Pulford, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Pulford

Guide to Pulford, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary's Church, Pulford Cheshire.jpg

Contents

History

In 1848 - PULFORD (St. Mary), is a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, Lower division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester; containing, with Poulton township, it is 5¼ miles (S. S. W.) from Chester. The parish is situated on the road from Chester to Wrexham, and bounded by the Pulford brook, which separates this part of the county from Denbighshire. Here is a station of the Chester and Ruabon railway.[1]

Pulford St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish and includes Poulton and Cuckoo's Nest.

Pulford is a village and civil parish in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England. It is believed that the name of the village is derived from the Welsh words "Pwll" (pool) and "Ffordd" (road). However, the current Welsh name for the village is Porffordd.

A church on the site can be traced back to the 12th century and the first Rector is mentioned in ancient records as Hugo.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241232.

Church records

Pulford St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Pulford St Mary Parish (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1559-1884
 NONE

1567-1836

banns 1837-1936

 NONE
1574-1956
 NONE
FS BT'S 1599-1885  NONE
1600-1842
 NONE
1599-1885
 NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Pulford, St. Mary the Virgin (C of E) was the ancient parish church for the townships of Poulton (near Chester) and Pulford.

The following records are deposited at the Cheshire Record Office:

  • Registers of baptisms 1559–1884, marriages 1559–1836 and burials 1574–1956, CRO call number: P101/1/1-4, 2, 3/1-2, 4-5.
  • Bishop's transcripts, 1599-1910, CRO number: EDB/173.

The following records have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Center in Salt Lake City:

Parish registers content FHL Film
Marriages: 1559-1836. Baptisms, burials: 1559-1884. 1905. Banns of marriages: 1876-1972. Burials: 1885-1956. 2093667 Items 1-9
Bishop's transcripts content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials: 1599-1840 (with gaps) 
Burials: 1841, 1843-1844, 1846-1847, 1849-1856, 1859-1864. Baptisms: 1841-1844, 1846-1856, 1859-1870. Marriages: 1842.
1751558 Item 2
Baptisms: 1870-1887, 1890-1898, 1905, 1907, 1909-1910.
Burials: 1864-1889, 1891-1898, 1905, 1907, 1909-1910.
1751559 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

There were no known nonconformist groups in Pulford. Search neighbouring parishes.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Here is a list of the districts that have included Pulford since 1837, with dates of inclusion:

  • Great Boughton (1837–69)
  • Chester (1870–1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937–74)
  • Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
  • Cheshire West (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. Here are good sources for maps on-line:

Websites

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 317, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, p. 169, ISBN 0 907768 18 0

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 25 Jan 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,065 times.