Putnam County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Putnam County

Guide to Putnam County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Putnam County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 31, 1821
County Seat Greencastle
Courthouse
Address Putnam County Courthouse
1 Courthouse Square Street
PO Box 546
Greencastle, IN 46135-0546
Phone: 765.653.2648
County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1820*
1882*
1824
1825
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed 31 December 1821 from Vigo and Owen Counties and unorganized territory. [1]
  • County Seat: Greencastle [2]


Neighboring Counties

Parke  • Motngomery  • Hendricks  • Morgan  • Owen  • Clay

Putnam CountyOwen CountyBrown CountyMorgan CountyMonroe CountyMarion CountyBoone CountyFountain CountyWarren CountyVigo CountySullivan CountyClay CountyParke CountyVermillion CountyClinton CountyHendricks CountyMontgomery CountyINPutnam.JPG



The county is named after Revolutionary War Major General Israel Putnam (1718-1790).[3]
Israel Putnam.JPG
  

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Putnam County, Indiana Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

  • A surname index (43,478 listings)of many cemeteries in Putnam County is available at the Putnam Public Library site.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Putnam County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Putnam County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories
  • Ellsworth, Spencer. Records of the Olden Time, or, Fifty Years on the Prairies Embracing ... the Organization of the Counties of Putnam and Marshall, Incidents and Reminiscences Connected Therewith, Biographies of Citizens, Portraits and Illustrations. (La Crosse, Wis: Brookhaven Press (a division of NMT Corp.), 2003.)other librariesINTERNET ARCHIVE

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents. 


Maps

Migration

Military Records

War of 1812

Mexican War

Civil War

Civil War service men from Putnam County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Putnam County.

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • Wabash Valley obituary index contains most of Vigo County, but much of other counties, including Putnam. These are indexes to obituaries published in Terre Haute newspapers from 1900-2007.
  • An obituary index from The Banner Graphic, newspaper of Greencastle, covers 1975 to the present and is updated every two weeks at the Putnam Public Library site.

Obituaries

Occupations

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Putnam County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Public Records

School Records
Voting Registration

Taxation

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Putnam County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:


Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives
County Courthouse

Putnam County Courthouse
1 Courthouse Square Street
PO Box 546
Greencastle, IN 46135-0546
Phone: 765.653.2648

County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage records from 1822,
Divorce and Probate Records from 1825
and Court Records from 1828.
County Recorder has land records. [4]

Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries

The Putnam County Library has a Local History and Genealogy Department. You can search all their indexed books and databases from this Web site.If you find something of interest, the librarians will do a short look up for you for free.

Museums
Societies

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Putnam County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Putnam County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Putnam County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Putnam County, Indiana Web Sites

Places

Putnam County, Indiana References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Putnam County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Putnam _County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. "Putnam County, Indiana," Wikipedia.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Putnam County, Indiana 216 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igiindianah.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:01.
  • This page has been accessed 12,138 times.