Putnam County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Putnam County

Guide to Putnam County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Putnam County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1845
County Seat Unionville
Courthouse
Address Putnam County Courthouse
Main Street #204
Unionville, MO 63565
Phone: 660.947.2674
Putnam County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1878-1903,
marriage records from 1854, divorce and court
and court records from 1855 and land records
from 1848; Probate Judge has probate records from 1848[1]


See the following:

History

Israel Putnam.JPG

The area that eventually became Putnam County, Missouri was a part of Chariton County when Missouri was admitted to the Union in 1821. Later, this area was a part of Sullivan County. Putnam County was formed from Sullivan County 28 Feb 1845, according to Walter Williams' 1913 history titled A History of Northeast Missouri, but from parts of both Adair and Sullivan Counties according to Wikipedia.

Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri (1874) also notes that "the Indians left in the summer of 1845." Then, from about 1845 to 1855, "a large number of families, many of them from Kentucky, located in the rich prairie lands and many fine farms were made."

Earlier settlers, prior to the formation of the county in 1845, are also noted by Campbell in his 1874 gazetteer: "Among the early settlers were James Cochran and Isaac and Clifford L. Summers, who located near the present site of Omaha; Isaac and Jesse Gilstrap, John F., W. G. and Miles Crabtree, and Joseph, Joshua, John and Henry Guffey, who settled on Goshen Ridge, which extends from north-west of Hartford to south-east of Martinstown; James M. Brasfield, who lived near Pleasant Home, besides the families of McCollom, Marshall, Mullinix and Martin." Campbell states that all of these individuals and families arrived prior to 1844.

The original county seat of Putnam County was Putnamville, located in the northeastern part of the county. The county seat moved to Winchester 6 Jan 1849. Sometime around 1853 this was again moved, this time to Harmony. The name of Harmony was changed "a few years later," according to Campbell's 1874 Missouri gazetteer, to Unionville.

Originally, the county was divided into the following townships: Cochran, Elm, Grogan, Locust, and Richland.

The first county court was held 28 Apr 1845 in the home of James Cochran. 

The county is named after Revolutionary War Major General Israel Putnam (1718-1790).[2]

For additional information regarding the history of Putnam County, see the following:

Parent County

Putnam County was formed in 1845 from Sullivan County. County seat: Unionville [3]

Boundary Changes

According to Campbell's 1874 Missouri gazetteer, the size of Putnam County was "greatly reduced" as a result of "the difficulty between Iowa and Missouri" (see "The Honey War" in Wikipedia). The same source notes that Putnam County was enlarged to include the former Dodge County in the spring of 1853.

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Additional places listed in historical sources:
  • Ayresville (20 miles west-northwest of Unionville) (Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, 1874)
  • Central City (12 miles west of Unionville) (Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, 1874)
  • Hartford (10 miles east of Unionville) (Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, 1874)
  • Holbrook (10 miles north of Unionville) (Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, 1874)
  • Howland (AKA Mendota; 6 miles north of Unionville) (Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, 1874)
  • Mendota - see Howland
  • Newtown (25 miles southwest of Unionville) (Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, 1874)
  • Omaha (12 miles east-northeast) (Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, 1874)
  • Pleasant Home (20 miles east-southeast of Unionville) (Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, 1874)
  • Prairie (4 miles south of Unionville) (Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, 1874)
  • Putnamville (already "fallen to decay" by 1874) (Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, 1874)
  • St. John (15 miles northwest of Unionville) (Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, 1874)
  • Shoneytown (14 miles northeast of Unionville) (Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, 1874)
  • Terre Haute (15 miles southwest of Unionville) (Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, 1874)
  • Winchester (already "fallen to decay" by 1874) (Campbell's Gazetteer of Missouri, 1874)
For additional information on Putnam County populated places and townships, see:

Neighboring Counties

Adair  • Appanoose County, Iowa  • Mercer  • Schuyler  • Sullivan  • Wayne County, Iowa

Putnam CountyGrundy CountySullivan CountyAdair CountySchuyler CountyMercer CountyKnox CountyScotland CountyDavis CountyAppanoose CountyDecatur CountyLucas CountyMonroe CountyClarke CountyWayne CountyMOPutnam1.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

General:
Specific cemeteries:
  • Cason Family Cemetery (FHL book 973 V3g, film 599835 item 2; Vol. 5, pg. 214)

Census

For tips on accessing Putnam County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Unionville

  • 1870-1873 - Unionville Catholic Church Baptism Index 1870-1873. Batch C511531 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1870-1873 - Unionville Catholic Church Marriage Index 1870-1873. Batch M511531 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Genealogies and Biographies

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Putnam County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Missouri Digital Heritage,

  • 1836 March - The first white settler came to what is now Putnam County.
  • 1843 - The area that included what would later become Putnam County was surveyed and old boundary lines were readjusted.
  • 1845 February 28 - Putnam County is organized.
  • 1877 June 26 - A Temperance and Reform Society was organized.

Maps

Moputnam.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 18th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
:- 18th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
:- 18th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
:- 2nd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 2nd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
:- 2nd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C
:- 45th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 45th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 45th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
:- 45th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
:- 45th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 45th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 45th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
:- 45th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 45th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Putnam County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Current:

Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
  • 1849-1853 - Putnam County Marriage Index 1849-1853. Batch M515631 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1853-1881 - Putnam County Marriage Index 1853-1881. Batch M515632 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1881-1885 - Putnam County Marriage Index 1881-1885. Batch M515633 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data submitted by individuals
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Putnam County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
epodunk/com Free Putnam County Profile with links of genealogical interest
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Putnam County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Putnam County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Putnam County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Putnam County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Putnam County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Putnam County, Missouri. Page 404 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Putnam County, Missouri," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 June 2014, at 00:55.
  • This page has been accessed 7,397 times.