Putnam County, New York GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Putnam County, New York)

United States go to New York go to Putnam County

Guide to Putnam County, New York ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

This page describes sources of genealogical data about Putnam County, New York Genealogy families, including links to smaller localities in the county. New York-related pages show useful statewide sources. United States pages explain the terminology and contents of genealogical records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/New York_Online_Genealogy_Records New York
Online Records



Putnam County, New York
Map
Map of New York highlighting Putnam County
Location in the state of New York
Map of the U.S. highlighting New York
Location of New York in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1812
County Seat Carmel
Courthouse
Ny-putnam-ch.jpg
Address 40 Gleneida Avenue
Carmel, NY 10512
Putnam County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
PHM-logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Putnam History Museum
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Putnam County New York Historical Facts

Parent County

12 June 1812: Set off from Dutchess County[1]

Neighboring Counties

Dutchess · Orange · Rockland · Westchester · Connecticut county: Fairfield[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New York County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New York County Boundary Maps" (1683-1915) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

No subsequent set offs or border changes since 12 June 1812.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in New York Counties see: New York Counties with Burned Courthouses

Putnam County New York Genealogy Resources

Bible Records

  • 1581–1917 New York, Family Bible Records at Ancestry– ($); Index. Database is a collection of genealogically important records taken from the Bibles of colony and state residents. Reveals the Bible's original owner, brief record of descendants,and a particular event such as birth or marriage as recorded in Bible.
  • Gentry, C. Historical Records of Enoch Crosby Chapter, National Society, Daughters of the American Revolution, Putnam, Dutchess, and Westchester Counties, New York (1991) [FHL 0860321]

Biography

Personal Papers Archived by the County Historian's Office

"The personal papers are primarily secondary records mixed with original documents. Many of the collections are a source for genealogy research and may also include information about local history, local sites, and politics." Click for more details about records.

501 Barnum Papers (Akin Family of Patterson), 1829-1935
502 Minnie Barnum Durga Papers
503 Brewster Granville Durgie, 1923-1994 (history of churches)
504 Cornwall Papers (Patterson), 1783–1827
505 Dykeman Papers, 1817-1928
506 George W. Gregory Papers 1862-1896
507 Gemmill Papers 1, 1823-1960 & Gemmill Papers 2, 1775-1861
508 Giddings Papers, 1855-1889
509 S. Barrett Hickman Papers, 1897-2004
510 Samuel J. Hickman Papers, 1939-1987
511 J. Robert Houskeeper Papers, 1977-1979
512 Willitt C. Jewell Papers, 1845-1868
513 Phelps Papers
514 Nichols Papers, deeds 1824, 1846, 1856
515 Segur Papers, 1831-1923
516 Taber Papers, 1870-1928
517 W.O. Taylor Collection, 1839-1954
518 Wanzer Papers, 1777-1957
519 Warner Papers,1959-1960
520 Rena E. Wilson Diary, 1902-1903
512 Allen R. Pike Papers, 1955-76
522 Jane M. Wood Papers
523 Henry Burton Papers
524 Philip E. Prinz Papers
525 Isaac Tompkins Papers, 1898-1930
526 Patterson Papers, 1892-1901
527 Salmon Papers, 1838-1927
528 Buckley Family Papers
529 Israel Ben Scheiber Papers, 1939-57
530 Barbara Smith Buys Papers
531 Lawrence Bobker Papers, 1949
532 Ira Tompkins Collection
533 Frederick Kempf Collection
534 Orlando Collection, Putnam Valley
535 The History and Genealogy of the Akin Family in America
526 Northrup Papers
527 Addis Papers

Business Records and Commerce

Putnam County lawyers in the 1851 edition of The Law Register

The County Archives holds these records:

  • 100 Stallion Records, 1887-1906, 1909
  • 101 Veterinary Medical Registry, 1894-1912
  • 102 Physicians and Surgeons Registry, 1880-1970
  • 103 Dentists and Dental Hygienists Registry, 1896-1969
  • 104 Assumed Names Registry (Business names), 1900-1938
  • 105 Architects Registry, 1923-1954
  • 106 Farm Names, 1913-1937
  • 108 Engineer or Land Surveyor Affidavits, 1924-1951

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Transcripts

Published Transcripts Cemetery Directories
Findagrave.com* Family History Library* Findagrave.com*
Interment.net* WorldCat* Tombstone Transcription Project*
Cemetery Site*   NYGenWeb Cemeteries*
New York Gravestones*   epodunk*
NYGenWeb Cemeteries*   Billion Graves*
Billion Graves*   Names in Stone*
Names in Stone*   Putnam Graveyards
Linkpendium*    
Ancestry*    
   *See the New York Cemeteries page for details about each site.
  • Brewster, NY, Cemetery Inscriptions (FHL 17862)
  • Brinkman, William A. A Memorial: Records of early burial places on the farms in the town of Guilderland, N.Y. and surrounding towns (Altamont, N.Y., 1940). Includes burials at Settlers Hill in Putnam County.
  • Buys, Barbara S. Old Graveyards of Putnam County, New York (Baltimore: Gateway Press, 1975)
  • Cold Spring Cemetery Register (photocopy of register of all graves), Putnam County Historian
  • Eardeley, William Applebie. Putnam County, New York, Cemeteries: 1794-1914 (Brooklyn, N.Y.: the author, 1917). Ancestry.com ($)
  • Fisher, Floyd. They All Rest Together; burial sites of early settlers -- southern Dutchess and Putnam Counties (1972).
  • Foley, Janet Wethy. Early Settlers of New York State, Vols. 5, 6, 7, 8 (mostly Carmel)
  • Foster, Emma J. and Livingston, Julia R. "Inscriptions in Milltown Cemetery, Southeast, N.Y.," NYGBR, Vol. 38 (1907), 273-277, Vol. 39 (1908), 42-46. Part 1, Part 2
  • Four Cemeteries in Putnam County, N.Y. (typescript, 1941) (FHL 17862) Inscriptions from two Cold Spring cemeteries, Presbyterian Church Cemetery (Mahopac Falls) and Methodist Church Cemetery (Union Valley).
  • Frost, Josephine C. Inscriptions from ten cemeteries in Putnam County (typescript). Contains Barrett Cemetery, Bailey Cemetery, Williams Cemetery, Crane Cemetery, Cole Cemetery, Carver Cemetery, King Cemetery (near Tilley Foster Reservoir), Pardee Cemetery, Hughson Cemetery, Patterson Village Cemetery. (FHL 17862)
  • Frost, Josephine C. Inscriptions from 13 old cemeteries in Putnam County, N.Y. (typescript, 1912). Includes cemeteries in Brewster, Carmel, Kent, Patterson and Towners.
  • Frost, Josephine C. Putnam County Cemetery Inscriptions (typescript, 1910). Includes cemeteries in Carmel, Kent Cliffs and Ludingtonville.
  • Genealogy Trails, Transcripts of Carver Cemetery in Carmel and two Cold Spring cemeteries
  • Gentry, C. Historical Records of Enoch Crosby Chapter, National Society, Daughters of the American Revolution, Putnam, Dutchess, and Westchester Counties, New York (1991) [FHL 0860321]
  • Gottwald, Gottwald and Gottwald, Russell-Mead Cemetery, Town of Kent, Putnam County, New York (1993, reissued 1997)
  • Gravestones of Revolutionary War Patriots in Putnam County, N.Y., compiled by the Enoch Crosby Chapter, National Society Daughters of the American Revolution (2011)
  • Horton, W.P. Graveyard Inscriptions: Putnam County, N.Y., New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 49 (1918), 76-82, 177-181, 303-307, 363-365. Includes transcripts for Peekskill Hollow Cemetery; Baxter Cemetery (Wicopee); Methodist Cemetery at Adams Corners (Peekskill), Bryant Hill Cemetery (Peekskill Hollow), Lafayette Avenue Cemetery (Peekskill), Selleck Cemetery (Crafts Corners), Hadden Cemetery (Peekskill), Wood Street Cemetery (Jefferson Valley), Tomkins Corners Cemetery (Putnam Valley), Entrott Cemetery (Peekskill) and Lane Plot (Shrub Oak).
  • Horton, W.P., "Graveyard Inscriptions, Methodist Churchyard, South Highlands [Garrison], Putnam County, N.Y.," NYGBR, Vol. 55 (1924), 185-190.
  • Horton, W.P., "Graveyard Inscriptions, North Highlands [Cold Spring], Putnam County, N.Y.," NYGBR, Vol. 55 (1924), 190-192, 236-240.
  • Horton, W.P., "Graveyard Inscriptions, Methodist Churchyard, MeKeels Corners [Garrison], Putnam County, N.Y.," NYGBR, Vol. 55 (1924), 240-241.
  • Horton, W.P, "Graveyard Inscriptions, Putnam County, N.Y.," NYGBR, Vol 56 (1925), 68-73, 187-195, 288-294, 308-317. Includes Methodist Churchyard (Mahopac); Russell-Meed Cemetery, Smalley Ground, Kent-Fishkill Baptist Cemetery; Hughson Farm Plot; Horton Farm Plot; Cole Family Burial Plot; Hill Family Plot; Bailey Burial Plot; Crane, Baldwin & Fowler Graveyard; Williams Burial Plot; Barrett Cemetery; Halstead Cemetery; Kent Cliffs Baptist Churchyard.
  • Horton, William P. Cemetery inscriptions of Putnam County, N.Y. : including the towns of Adams Corners, Carmel, Cold Spring, Doansburg, Farmers Mills, Fredericksburg, Hortontown, Kent, Kent Cliffs, Lake Mahopac, Lake Oscawana, Ludington, Mahopac Falls, Meads Corners, Mekeels Corners, Milltown, Patterson, Secords Corners, Tilley Foster, Towners Corners, and Union Valley (Peekskill, N.Y.: the author, 1928). Ancestry.com ($) Also transcribed here: Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3
  • Nicholson, William A. Inscriptions from Clift or Drew Cemeteries (Brewster and Southeast), NYGBR, Vol. 49 (1918), 326-329.
  • Von Ahn, Karl H. Graves of Old Mount Hope Cemetery (2002), at Putnam Historian's Office
  • Wheeler, Glendon E. Index of gravestones for the people of Putnam County, New York (Rhinebeck: Kinship Books, 1997). ISBN 1560121505
  • Wheeler, Glendon E.. Burials and Gravestones of Persons, Families Associated with Putnam County, New York (Rhinebeck, N.Y.: Kinship Books, 1998). ISBN 1560121548
  • Wheeler, Glendon E. Burials and Gravestones, Putnam County, New York, Volume II (Simi Valley, Calif, 2002). More cemeteries and sources for deaths and burials in the county.
  • Wheeler, Glendon E. and Gottwald, Charles. Second Kent Baptist Church Cemetery (1997)
  • Wheeler, Glendon E. and Gottwald, Charles and Bernice. Raymond Hill Cemetery, Putnam County, New York (2000)
  • Wheeler, Behr, Gottwald and Wheeler, Halstead Union Cemetery, Town of Kent, Putnam County, New York (1995, reissued 1997)

Census

For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see New York Census.

Federal

U.S. Census Mortality Schedules for New York, 1850-1880:

  • Available online at Ancestry ($).
  • Deaths are included for the 12 months prior to the census, 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, and 1879-80 beginning 1 June and ending 31 May of the census year.[3]
  • Basic contents of the records include: Name, sex, age, color, marital status, place of birth, month of death, occupation, and cause of death. 1870 also has parents' birthplace. 1880 lists how long a resident of the county.
  • Also on FHL Films 1415128–42 which can be ordered through any Family History Center.

Other resources

State and Local Census Records at Putnam County Historian

  • 1755 Slave Census for Putnam County
  • 1714, 1800 and 1810 county censuses (head of household)
  • 1825 state census for Patterson with index
  • Handwritten roll of residents of Brewster, 1898 and 1902 
  • Extract and index to state census for Kent (1845, 1915, 1925)
  • 1845 state census for Philipstown (microfilm of original at New York Historical Society)
  • Census reports for Dutchess County (1807) and Putnam County (1814, 1821, 1825)
  • Extract for Putnam County from 1925 state census

Books

  • Wheeler, Glendon E. Town of Kent 1845 State Census (Rhinebeck, N.Y.: Kinship Books), ISBN: 1560122722. Purchase
State
Source 1825 1835 1845 1855 1865 1875 1892 1905 1915 1925
Ancestry.com - - - - - - - - Yes Yes
Family History Library Films - - - - - - - - Yes Yes
FamilySearch Images - - - - - - - - Yes Yes
New York State Library Films - - - - - - - - Yes Yes

Church Records

Church records are good substitutes for birth, marriage, and death information and are most often found on a local city/town or county level.  Published and manuscript church records can be found at public, university, and private libraries.

For a brief general history of denominations and a guide to finding various New York denomination's records, see New York Church Records Wiki page.

Parish Registers (Transcription)

  • 1839 - 1919, Cold Spring: St. Mary's Church in the Highlands (years only)
  • 1810 - 1811, Peekskill: St. Peter's Church
  • 1811 - 1911, Garrison: St. Philip's Church in the Highlands
  • 1806 - 1958, Mahopac Falls: Mahopac Falls, Putnam County, NY 1806-1958 (Rhinebeck, N.Y.: Kinship Books) ISBN 1560122498 Purchase
  • 1863 - 1893, Cold Spring: Vital Records of the Cold Spring Methodist Church, 1863-1893 - From the publisher: "This indexed volume is a transcript completed by Arthur C. M. Kelly of the original church baptism and marriage registers. A complete baptism entry would provide the date of baptism, date of birth, father’s name, mother’s given name and surname, child’s name, and names of sponsors. A complete marriage entry would provide the date of marriage, groom’s name with residence and parents, bride’s name with residence and parents, location of marriage, and witnesses to the event." 40 pages. ISBN 1560122978 Purchase
  • 1808 - 1853, Cold Spring: Vital Records of the Second Baptist Church, Philipstown, 1808-1853 - From the publisher: "This indexed volume is a transcript completed by Arthur C. M. Kelly of the original church baptism and marriage registers." 15 pages. ISBN 1560122986. Purchase
  • Gentry, C. Historical Records of Enoch Crosby Chapter, National Society, Daughters of the American Revolution, Putnam, Dutchess, and Westchester Counties, New York (1991) [FHL 0860321]

Histories

Additional Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Putnam County, New York Genealogy Church Records  in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Ancestors may have also been involved in municipal, state, or federal court cases. See also New York Court Records and United States Court Records.

In its 2015 annual guide to the county's records, the archivist noted that

"The various series of court records held by the Putnam County Archives can be difficult to navigate. ... Court records received by the archives had no obvious or easily discernible order. The fact that they were received piecemeal did not improve the situation. Tightly folded papers were securely bound in various packets, some with labels, most not. Box descriptions included discontinuances, old county clerk records (unidentified), transcripts, recognizances, motions, undertakings, petitions, bonds, injunctions, notice of appeals, court calendars, stenographer’s notes, court minutes, justice returns, and a favorite, “assorted papers” ... In general, it does not appear that case files containing the entire trail of actions were kept. In fact, many court records may be lost: in the 1980s many boxes of records of the court of common pleas were destined for a landfill until “rescued” by the then-county historian. Be aware that records that ought to be found in one series may have been filed in another. It will take many years to index and cross-index all the court series."


The County Archives holds the following records:

  • 037 Jury lists, 1813-1952
  • 061 Indictments, 1839-1910
  • 062 Grand Jury Minutes, 1855-1922
  • 154 County Court Records (other), 1844-1932
  • 013 Court of Common Pleas, 1812-1848
  • 005 Commitments to County Jail, 1812-1850
  • 016 County Court, Court of Sessions records, 1812-1895
  • 018 Court of Oyer and Terminer records, 1814-1892
  • 061 Indictments 1839-1910
  • 068 Records of Convictions 1855-1916
  • 155 Criminal Court Records, 1843 – 1934, gaps
  • 156 Recognizances and other Criminal Papers, 1837-1919
  • 014 Supreme Court Records, 1846-1910
  • 015 Justice Court Records, 1813-1891
  • 045 Judgment Records, Court of Common Pleas, Supreme, Oyer & Terminer, Putnam County Court, 1812-1913 (numbered cases)
  • 046 Orders and Rules, Supreme Court, 1878-1937 (vol. & pg. no.)
  • 047 Putnam County Civil Actions & related documents, 1819-1872 (vol. & pg. no.)
  • 054 Orders and Discontinuances, 1878-1936
  • 057 Transcripts of Judgments, 1812-1935
  • 058 Index to Judgments, 1812-1954 (series 045)
  • 059 Assignments of Judgments, 1854-1936
  • 060 Satisfactions of Judgments, 1835-1937 (numbered files)
  • 063 Supreme Court Orders, 1859-1939
  • 064 Lis Pendens, 1824-1864
  • 065 Lis Pendens Index, 1812-1961
  • 066 Bail Book, 1812-1851
  • 067 Notes of Issue, 1878-1939
  • 079 Insolvent Assignments, 1814-1915
  • 088 Orders Appointing Receivers, Insolvency Cases, 1874-1906
  • 089 Court directed Moneys to County Treasurer, 1892-1923
  • 113 Putnam County Court Minutes, 1812-1935
  • 134 New York City vs. Putnam County Assessors, 1904-1937
  • 149 Justices Returns, 1850-1916
  • 174 Attachments, 1835-1891
  • 175 Assignees, 1861-1903
  • 153 Record of Old Estates, 1812 – 1875
  • 182 Survey of Historical Records in Putnam County, WPA project, 1936
  • 184 Letters of Guardianship, 1812-1975
  • 185 Guardian’s Bonds, Administrator’s Bonds, 1890-1948

Crime and Criminals

The County Archives holds the following records:

  • 004 Sheriffs’ Bond and Appointments 1812-1916, 1925
  • 005 Commitments to County Jail 1812-1850
  • 006 State Inspections of the County Jail 1905-1947
  • 066 Bail Book, 1812-1851
  • 068 Records of Convictions, 1855-1916

Directories

  • Putnam County Directory for the Years 1891-1892: Patrons' Classified Business Directory (Newburgh: Hudson River Directory Publishing, 1891)
  • 1931 Putnam County Year Book (Carmel: Putnam County Chamber of Commerce, 1931)
  • Putnam County Directory, 1938 (Cold Spring: The Putnam County News, 1938)
  • Brewster Town Directory, 1910 - Ancestry.com ($)

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Books

Digital Archives

Livingston-Svirsky Archive (LiSA) at Desmond-Fish Library, Garrison. Includes a collection of documents related to Hamilton Fish, Daniel Butterfield, William Dominick Garrison and local history.

Markers

Putnam County Historical Markers

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New York Land and Property for more details, especially about the papers generated in New York State by large speculative land companies.

Online

Books

  • Ruddock, William T. Confiscated Properties of the Philipse Highland Patent, Putnam County, New York, 1780-1785 (Westminster, Md.: Heritage Books, 2012). ISBN 0788453858 Purchase

Microfilm

  • 1824-1885, Lis pendens (real estate lawsuits), Putnam County (FHL 931879), from original records at Putnam County Courthouse
  • 1885-1894, Lis pendens (real estate lawsuits), Putnam County (FHL 931880)

The County Archives has the following land and property records:

  • 009 Deeds and Indentures filed with the County Clerk, 1791-1932
  • 012 Mortgages (including chattel) filed with the County Clerk, 1791-1859, 1812-1859, 1859-1932
  • 019 Field Books and Land Surveys, 1813-1832
  • 056 Satisfactions of Mortgages, 1817-1914
  • 072 Title Searches by Putnam County, 1850-1936
  • 080 Town of Putnam Valley Assessment Roll 1932
  • 081 Grantee Index for Deeds 1870-1929
  • 082 Grantor Index for Deeds 1870-1929
  • 083 Grantor/Grantee Index for Deeds 1850(s)-1911
  • 084 Mortgage Index 1812-1917
  • 087 Assignment of Mortgages 1906-1908
  • 124 Commissioners of Forfeitures 1780-1786
  • 134 New York City vs. Putnam County Assessors 1904-1937; Box 13 assessment rolls Southeast; Box 15 assessment rolls Philipstown
  • 153 Record of Old Estates, 1812 - 1875
  • 164 Mortgage Tax Collection Letters, 1924-1935
  • 183 Real Estate Orders (Transfers), 1813-1958

Additional land records can sometimes be found using these catalogs:

Additional resources

Additional resources for Putnam County, New York Genealogy land records may be found in the Putnam County, New York Genealogy – Land Records topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Maps

Nyputnam.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Putnam County for European settlers included:[4]

Military

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Town registers. The New York town clerks kept a bound register of all soldiers from their town serving in the Civil War 1861-1865. Registers are arranged by county, and town. Some town registers are missing. The registers include an index at the start of each town.

Content. Many register entries include full name, residence, date and place of birth, parents names, marital status, date of enlistment and muster and rank, discharges, death, or promotion.

Access. The original registers are at the New York State Archives in Albany, New York. Microfilm copies are found at the Family History Library (FHL Film 1993401-37) and can be ordered for viewing at your local Family History Center. They are also indexed and available at Ancestry.com ($).

Available towns. Registers are available for: Carmel · Kent · Patterson · Philipstown · Putnam Valley · Southeast . They are available on FHL film 1993346.

Federal Census

1890 Census of Union Veterans and Widows of the Civil War (Putnam County, N.Y.) Familysearch.org

Civil War Papers of Edwin Foster Richards, 1862-1887 (HC232) at Putnam County Historian

Regiments

Service men in Putnam County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county.[5]

- 6th Regiment, New York Heavy Artillery, Companies G and L.
- 59th Regiment, New York Infantry
- 65th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company B.
- 95th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company K.
- 135th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies G and L.
- 194th Regiment, New York Infantry, Company F.

Indexes

Bailey, Carol and Wargas, Catherine. Putnam County Men in the Civil War (Rhinebeck, N.Y.: Kinship, 2008). ISBN 1560123192. Purchase. Their original research is archived at the Putnam County Historian's Office (HC233).

World War I

Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918, Putnam County, N.Y.


General

The County Archives holds these records:

  • 021 DB 1 Folder D, Oaths of Office 1813-1863
  • 021 DB 1 Folder Q, Military Pensions and bounty lands 1854-66
  • 051 Oaths of Office, Civil and Military 1815-1918
  • 136 Military Draft Notices, Patterson, 1863
  • 137 Enrollment roll for NYS militia, 1917
  • 163 Military Exemptions WW1, 1917

Naturalization and Citizenship


The County Archives holds these records:

  • 055 Naturalization, Declaration of Intention, 1842-1929
  • 115 Naturalization, Petition and Records, 1905-1939
  • 116 Naturalization, Final Application, 1840-1906
  • 117 Naturalization, Affidavits, 1861-1895
  • 126 Naturalization, Register of Oaths, 1861-1906
Indexes

The Family History Library has also acquired this comprehensive index for the years 1792 through 1906 on microfilm: FHL Film 1419807 (1st of 294 films). The courts this index covers are:

  • City Court of Brooklyn, 1836-1894
  • Kings County Court, 1806-1906
  • New York City Marine Court, 1806-1849
  • New York County Common Pleas Court, 1792-1895
  • New York County Superior Court, 1828-1895
  • New York City and County Supreme Court, 1868-1906
  • Queens County Court, 1799-1906
  • Queens County Surrogate Court, 1888-1898
  • Richmond County Court, 1869-1906
  • U.S. Circuit Court Southern District, 1846-1876
  • U.S. District Court Eastern District, (Kings, Queens, Nassau and Suffolk counties), 1865-1906
  • U.S. District Court Southern Court Southern District, (New York, Bronx and also Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Richmond, Rockland, Sullivan and Westchester counties), 1824-1906[6]

Newspapers

Online

Microfilm

Indexes

  • Wheeler, Glendon E. Deaths in The Putnam County Courier, 1922 and 1931-1940 (2007)
  • Wheeler, Glendon E. Carmel Newspapers, Putnam County, Marriages and Deaths, 1849-1873 (Rhinebeck, N.Y.: Kinship Books, 1998) ISBN 156012153X. Purchase

Poorhouses, Poor Law, Etc.

Records in the Putnam County Archives:

  • 023 Putnam County Almshouse Record of Inmates,1875-1914
  • 029 Overseers records and Indentures to Apprenticeship, 1813-1902
  • 036 Putnam County Department of Public Welfare records, 1936-1977
  • 039 Keeper of Poorhouse records, 1865-1914
  • 049 Putnam County Board of Child Welfare records, 1922-1938
  • 099 Committees: Lunatics, Incompetents, and Habitual Drunkards, 1848-1923
  • 112 Superintendent of the Poor records, 1830-1852

Probate Records

Probate records including original estates and wills for New York are held in the office of the Putnam County, New York Genealogy County Surrogate Court beginning in 1787, or when the county was formed. Prior to 1787, most are housed at the New York State Archives. See New York Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
Content:  Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types:  Wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distribution.

Probate Petitions

In 1830, state law required the Surrogate Court clerk to issue a probate petition for a deceased individual with property. This petition, unique to New York, usually lists the deceased's death date. It also lists the heirs, their relationship to the deceased, and their residence. [7] [8]

These petitions are often found in the estate files and can be obtained from the Putnam County Surrogate Court.

Online Abstracts and Indexes

Probate Records on Microfilm

  • 1812–1936 Probate Records: Index, 1812–1970; Wills, 1812–1901; Letters Testamentary 1830–1904; Letters of administration, 1812–1905; Guardianship 1812–1936. FHL Film 838101 (24 films)

The County Archives holds these original records:

  • 034 Probate, Surrogates’ Court Records, 1814-1915/18 (numbered cases)
  • 187 Index to Probate, 1812-1950
  • 053 Guardianships, Infancy Proceedings, 1857-1925
  • 071 Executors’ Oaths, 1868-1887
  • 076 Taxable Transfers, 1892-1965
  • 077 Taxable Transfers Index, 1920-1945
  • 078 Transfer Tax 1922-1943
  • 121 Surrogates’ Minutes, 1829-1955
  • 123 Surrogates’ Court Correspondence, 1919-1922
  • 141 Administrator’s Oaths, 1868-1941
  • 142 Administrators’ Bonds, 1895-1925
  • 143 Bonds of executors and trustees, 1915-1939
  • 144 Corporation Sureties, 1908-1933
  • 150 Wills, 1812 - 1931
  • 151 Letters of Administration, 1812 – 1905
  • 152 Letters Testamentary, 1830 - 1905

Repositories

See also a List of New York Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

  • Cornell University, Guide to Historical Resources in Putnam County, New York Repositories. ([Ithaca, New York]: New York Historical Resources Center, Olin Library, Cornell University, 1987). At various libraries; FHL Book 974.732 A3g and fiche 6067187. (Digital version) Includes index. Includes sources for family history and genealogy.
  • Boyer, Donna. An introduction to the availability of the historical and genealogical primary sources in eastern Putnam County (Carmel: Kent Public Library, 1986).

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Archives

Putnam County Archives
40 Gleneida Avenue, 3rd Floor
Carmel, New York 10512
Phone: (845) 808-1001
Fax: (845) 808-1901

2015 guide to the holdings of the County Archives (PDF)

County Clerk

Putnam County Clerk
40 Gleneida Avenue, Room 100
Carmel, NY 10512

County Historian

County Historian's Office
Sarah Johnson
68 Marvin Ave
Brewster NY 10509-1515
Telephone: 845-808-1420
Fax: 845-278-4865
E-mail: historian@putnamcountyny.gov

Open for research weekdays 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.(from 8 a.m. in summer)
Advance notice requested.

Putnam County Historian Historical Records Series Guide

Select Records

204. Odd Fellows Collection 1877-1975: Brewster Lodge 457 and Patterson Lodge 173
231. World War I Veterans Collection, 1918-1919
402. Cemetery notebooks of the Rev. Floyd Fisher
404. Rev. Horace E. Hillery (County Historian) research notes, 1953-1962

Collections

  • The Document and Records Collection consists of a variety of papers such as family genealogy, correspondence, diaries, scrapbooks, directories, essays, personal papers of prominent private and political figures, business records of civic organizations, account books, indentures, deeds, certificates and historical reference.
  • The Map and Aerial Photograph Collection documents the history of land use and ownership in the county. The collection contains more than 800 maps, original and photocopies, from the American Revolution to present day and over 350 aerial photos. The more frequently utilized maps are by O’Connor (1854), Beers (1867), and T.H. Reed (1876). The aerials are dated 1933, 1963, 1986/7. The map collection is indexed.
  • The Photograph Collection contains over thousands of images dating from the mid-19th Century to present day, and includes a significant number from the files of The Patent Trader and The Putnam County Courier. The photography collection is indexed by subject, and many photos have been scanned.
  • The Publications and Pamphlets Collection (1862 to present) features government, civic, political party,
  • and tourism brochures and is accessible through a database.
  • The Cassette and Digital Recordings Collection (audio and video) consists of oral history, special events, local events, and special programs on a number of CDs and digital tapes, this part of the collection is expected to grow substantially. It is indexed in this directory.
  • Miscellaneous Artifacts, souvenirs, memorabilia, ordinarily related to archival collections.

The office's Handbook for Putnam County History and Genealogy is updated annually and available for $10 postpaid from Putnam County Historian, 68 Marvin Avenue, Brewster, NY 10509.

Public Libraries

There are eight public libraries in Putnam County that belong to the Mid-Hudson Library System that serves a five-county area and shares a catalog that includes a sizeable collection of genealogical materials. For information on the individual libraries in Putnam County, click here.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FHC for Putnam County, New York Genealogy is the Yorktown New York Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

Historical Societies

Putnam History Museum
63 Chestnut Street
Cold Spring, NY 10516-2613
Phone: 845-265-4010
Research hours: Wed. 11-3, or by appointment

Southeast Museum
67 Main Street
Brewster, NY 10509
Phone: 845-279-7500

Town of Carmel Historical Society
P.O. Box 456
Mahopac, NY 10541
Phone: 845-628-0500

Kent Historical Society
P.O. Box 123
Carmel, NY 10512
Phone: 845-225-8366
kenthistoricalsociety@gmail.co

Patterson Historical Society
P.O. Box 534
Patterson, NY 12563

Putnam Valley Historical Society
301 Peekskill Hollow Road
Putnam Valley, NY 10579
Phone: 845-528-1024

Preserve Putnam County

Schools

  • Kent, Putnam County, NY School Records 1863-1886 (Rhinebeck, N.Y.: Kinship Books) - This transcript of the Town school records provides the names of the residents together with the names of their children with ages attending school. 72 pages. ISBN: 1560122706. Purchase

Taxation

The County Archives holds these records:

  • 077 Taxable Transfers Index, 1920-1945
  • 022 Taxation and Assessment records, 1859-1919
  • 024 Putnam County Directory and Tax Levy, 1948 – to present
  • 031 Petitions, Licenses, and recognizance to sell liquor (Tavern licenses), 1813-1878
  • 035 Petition for submission of Local Option Questions under Section 13, Liquor Tax, DB 1, 1917
  • 043 Tax Collector’s Books 1857-1907, all towns, and 1831 Carmel,
  • 076 Taxable Transfers, 1892-1965
  • 078 Transfer Tax, 1922-1943
  • 080 Town of Putnam Valley Assessment Roll, 1932

Books

  • Kent, Putnam County, NY Tax Records 1857-1907 - This book is a transcript of the Town tax records for 1857, 1860, 1867, 1887, 1895, and 1907. A typical entry would include name of resident, number of acres. valuation, description of property. 70 pages. ISBN: 1560122714  Purchase

Transcripts

  • "Town of Southeast, Tax List, 1779," The Dutchess (Dutchess County Historial Society), Vol. 15, No. 3 (1988)

Microfilm

  • 1815-1836 - Philipstown Assessment Rolls (Putnam County Historian)

Federal Records

Internal Revenue Assessment Lists, Putnam County, 1862-1866 Familysearch

Town & County Records

Meeting Minutes in Town Clerks' Offices

Brewster: 1946-69, 1971 to present
Carmel: 1787 to present
Cold Spring: 1888 to present
Kent: 1886 to present (1795 to 1885 in County Archives)
Nelsonville: 1855 to present
Patterson: 1863 to prseent
Philipstown: 1809 to present
Putnam Valley: 1839 to present (with gaps)
Southeast: About 1882 to present

Books
Transcriptions published by Kinship Books, Rhinebeck:

  • Carmel, Putnam County, NY 1795-1839 - This transcript of the Town records provides the names of many residents who appear in lists of officers, road pathmasters, elections, fence viewers, school district residents. 192 pages. ISBN: 1560121068
  • Fredericksburg to Kent, Putnam & Dutchess County, NY 1788-1841 - This book was translated and edited by Glendon E. Wheeler from a microfilm of the original Town record. This transcript of the Town records provides the names of many residents who appear in lists of officers, road pathmasters, elections and much more. Full name index is included. 254 pages. ISBN: 1560122056
  • Kent, Putnam County, NY 1841-1886 - This transcript of the Town records provides the names of many residents who appear in lists of officers, road pathmasters, elections. 145 pages. ISBN: 1560122692
  • Patterson, Putnam County, NY Clerk Records 1795-1863 - Indexed transcript of Town minutes, elections, manumission records, etc. 351 pages. ISBN: 1560122951
  • Putnam Valley, Putnam County, NY 1839-1916 - Indexed copy of Town minutes, election of officers, etc. 389 pages. ISBN 1560123176

Other transcriptions:

Mucciolo, Christina. Town of Putnam Valley Town Records, 1928-29 and 1942-45 (Brewster, 2015)

Microfilm

  • 1809 - 1864 - Philipstown Record Book (including highway commission, town meetings, earmarks, school district boundaries, election returns, surveys and jury lists), currently being transcribed and indexed by Putnam County Historian (2015)
  • 1795 - 1885 - Kent Town Meeting Minutes (Putnam County Historian)
  • 1795 - 1862 - Patterson Town Meeting Minutes (Putnam County Historian)

County Government

Journal of the Proceedings of the Putnam County Board of Supervisors, 1829, 1846-1979 (Putnam County Historian). All other records before 1846 are lost.

Vital Records

Vital records of birth, marriage or death were first recorded at the local level in the village clerk, town clerk, or city clerk’s ledger book. If you know where a birth, marriage or death took place, a copy of the certificate or record may be obtained by writing to the town, village or city clerk. See also How to order New York Vital Records or order electronically online.

See the heading Places on this wiki page for links to local community wiki pages and their available records. See New York Vital Records for a discussion about beginning dates and availability of vital records in New York.

Use substitute records for birth, marriage, and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.

Vital Records in Town Clerks' Offices

Brewster: 1902 to present
Carmel: 1880 to present
Cold Spring: 1890 to present
Kent: 1882 to present
Nelsonville: 1890 to present
Patterson: 1879 to prseent
Philipstown: 1882 to present
Putnam Valley: 1847-49 and 1882 to present
Southeast: 1882 to present

Birth

Early births were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording births in 1881. Births were not recorded on the county level.

Birth Substitutes

  • 1640 – 1962 -  New York Births and Christenings, 1640-1962 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index.
  • 1913 - 1931 - Brewster, scans of records at Putnam County Historian
  • 1882 - 1911 - Kent, index to births at Putnam County Historian
  • 1882 - 1937 - Putnam Valley, scans and indexes at Putnam County Historian
  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military
  • Gentry, C. Historical Records of Enoch Crosby Chapter, National Society, Daughters of the American Revolution, Putnam, Dutchess, and Westchester Counties, New York (1991) [FHL 0860321]
  • See Church Records
Marriage

Early marriages were sometimes recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) In 1880, town clerks were to record the marriage and a copy was sent to the New York State Department of Health (state level). Town clerks continue to record marriages. Marriages were recorded by the Putnam County clerk starting in 1908 and go until 1935.

  • 1908–1935 - Putnam County Marriages at New York, County Marriages – free; FHL film 931881(first of 6 films). Name index and images of records after state in 1908 began requiring counties to keep marriage records. The County Archives holds the originals (070 Marriage licenses & certificates 1908-1935; 122 Marriage records 1918-1935 [index for series .070])
  • 1882 - 1911 - Kent, index to marriages at Putnam County Historian
  • 1882 - 1963 - Putnam Valley, scans and indexes at Putnam County Historian

Marriage Substitutes

  • 1800–1855 - New York Marriage Notices at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage notices published in newspapers around the state. Contains name of bride and groom, marriage date, marriage location, residence, and newspaper found in.
  • 1824 -1868 - Wheeler, Glendon H. Analysis of Marriages of Elder Nathaniel Robinson, 1824-1868 (Simi Valley, Ca.: Wheeler Historical Society, Revised 2006)
  • 1849-1873 - Wheeler, Glendon H., Carmel Newspapers, Putnam County, N.Y. : Marriages and Deaths, 1849-1873 (Rhinebeck, N.Y.: Kinship, 1998). ISBN 156012153X. Purchase.
  • 1683-1906 - Marriages with dates taken from genealogical and church records in Westchester and Putnam Counties (FHL 17999)
  • Wheeler, Glendon H. - Index of Married Women of Putnam County, New York (Simi Valley, Calif, 1999)
  • See Church Records
Divorce

Pre–1787

All divorces were granted by the governor or legislature and were very rare.

1787–1847

All divorces were granted by the court of chancery. These records are found in the New York State Archives or for the New York City area at the New York County Clerk's office.These divorces were granted only on the grounds of adultery.

1847–present

All divorces are handled by the county Supreme Court where the divorce was granted. Divorce files in New York are sealed for 100 years. Contact the County Clerk for information about divorce records.

Divorce judgment papers often include date and place of the marriage and the names and birthdates of any children. Local newspapers may publish notices of divorce actions.

Death

Early deaths were recorded on the town level and the years vary by town. (List of towns) The New York State Department of Health (state level) began recording deaths in 1881. Deaths were not recorded on the county level.

Death Substitutes

  • 1820 - 1973 - Coroner Records in the Putnam County Archives: (1) 021 Coroner, Records Filed with County Clerk 1822-1896, DB #1, I; (2)  052 Coroner, Inquests, 1820-1913, (3) 069 Coroner, Inquests Index, 1820-1973
  • 1913 - 1935 - Brewster, scans of death records at Putnam County Historian
  • 1882 - 1911 - Kent, index to deaths at Putnam County Historian
  • 1882 - 1963 - Putnam Valley, scans and indexes at Putnam County Historian
  • 1819 - 1869 - Wheeler, Glendon E. Record Book of Rev. Nathaniel Robinson, Putnam County, New York - Funerals 1819-1869 (Dayton, Nv.: Wheeler Historical Society, 2006)
  • 1849-1873 - Wheeler, Glendon H., Carmel Newspapers, Putnam County, N.Y. : Marriages and Deaths, 1849-1873 (Rhinebeck, N.Y.: Kinship, 1998). ISBN 156012153X
  • 1922, 1931-1940 - Wheeler, Glendon E. Deaths in The Putnam County Courier, 1922 and 1931-1940 (2007)
  • Wheeler, Glendon E. - Master Death Index: Putnam County, New York (Dayton, Nev., 2014), 2 volumes
  • Gravestones of Revolutionary War Patriots in Putnam County, N.Y., compiled by the Enoch Crosby Chapter, National Society Daughters of the American Revolution (2011)
  • 1849-50, 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - See Mortality Schedule information in the Federal Census section of Census for death information. Name search of 1850-1880 at Ancestry.com ($)
  • See Town Clerks' Registers of Men Who Served in the Civil War in the Civil War section of Military for death information.
  • See Church Records

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Putnam County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the New York, Putnam– Vital Records topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Putnam County New York Places

Putnam County New York Genealogy Websites

Putnam County New York Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 491. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook, 478.
  3. Arlene Eakle, and Johni Cerni, The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1984), 103. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27ts.
  4. Handybook, 847-61.
  5. Frederick Phisterer, New York in the War of the Rebellion, 3rd ed. (Albany, N.Y.: J. B. Lyon Company, 1912). Internet Archive digital copy; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 1486494-96; Fiche 6083559-64; Book 974.7 M2p.
  6. FamilySearch Catalog, FamilySearch, accessed 6 December 2011, http://www.familysearch.org.
  7. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 479. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  8. Henry B. Hoff, "Navigating New York Probate," American Ancestors 12 (Fall 2011): 57.
  9. About Abstracts of Wills, Admins. and Guardianships in NY State, 1787-1835 at New York Ancestors, accessed 8 December 2011, http://newyorkancestors.org/.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 August 2015, at 03:50.
  • This page has been accessed 21,354 times.