Putnam County, West VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png West Virginia Gotoarrow.png Putnam County

Guide to Putnam County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/West Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records


Putnam County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Putnam County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 11, 1848
County Seat Winfield
Courthouse
Address Putnam County Courthouse
3389 Winfield Road
Winfield WV 25213
Phone 304-586-0202
Putnam County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

  • County Clerk has birth records from 1848, death records from 1853
  • Marriage and probate records from 1853
  • Land records from 1841
  • Circuit Court Clerk has divorce and court records[1]

History

Israel Putnam.JPG

The county is named after Revolutionary War Major General Israel Putnam (1718-1790).[2]

History of Putnam County, West Virginia

History and Genealogy Putnam County, West Virginia

Parent County

1848--Putnam County was created 11 March 1848 from Kanawha, Mason and Cabell Counties.County seat:Winfield [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Wvputnam.jpg

Cemeteries

Find A Grave Putnam County
West Virginia Cemetery Preservation Association Inc.
Putnam County Tombstone Photos
Interment.net Cemetery records on line

Census

For tips on accessing Putnam County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Church

Court

Genealogy

  • [Rust] Rust, Ellsworth Marshall. Rust of Virginia: Genealogical and Biographical Sketches of the Descendants of William Rust, 1654-1940. Washington, D.C.: Rust, 1940. FHL Book 929.273 R922re.

Land

Local Histories

Centennial Celebration, Hurricane, West Virginia, 1888-1988: Program. s. l., n. p., 1988. 975.435 H966c Pam.

Comstock, Jim. Hardesty's Historical and Genealogical Encyclopedia. Richwood, West Virginia, Jim Comstock, 1973. 975.4003 H259 1973 v.1.

Hanson, Lee H. The Buffalo Site: A Late 17th Century Indian Village Site (46 PU 31) in Putnam County, West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, West Virginia Geological and Economic Survey, 1975.
Geo 3. R4 no.5.

Harper, Charles Ray. History of Red House, West Virginia. Red House, West Virginia, Charles Harper, 1983.
975.435 H293 Pam.

_________________. A Short History of Putnam County, in Two Parts. Red House, West Virginia, Charles Harper, Putnam Democrat and Hurricane Breeze, 1983.
975.435 H293s Pam.

Historical Records Survey, West Virginia. Inventory of the County Archives of West Virginia: No. 40 Putnam County (Winfield). Division of Professional and Service Projects, Work Projects Administration, Charleston, West Virginia, West Virginia Historical Records Survey, 1941.
016.9754 P899.

History of Buffalo, Putnam County, West Virginia. Pt. Pleasant, West Virginia, Mattox Printing Service, 1976.
975.435 B929.

History of Hurricane, 100 Years, 1888-1988. Salem, West Virginia, Walsworth Press, Inc., 1988.
975.435 H966.

Upper Vandalia Historical Society. The Paradise Journals, 1884-1905, Putnam County, West Virginia. s. l., Upper Vandalia Historical Society, 1981. 975.435 P222 Pam.

____________________________. The Vandalia Journal. s. l., Upper Vandalia Historical Society, 1964-.
Per.

Wintz, William D. and Hunter, Ivan N. The History of Putnam County. Charleston, West Virginia, Upper Vandalia Historical Society, Quick Copy Service Company, 1967.
975.435 H673.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Putnam County, West Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Putnam County, West Virginia:


Confederate

- 8th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G (Mountain Rangers).[4]
- 16th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company D.[5]
- 22nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (1st Kanawha Regiment). Company A (Border Rifles).[6]
- 34th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Witcher's Battalion, Virginia Mounted Rifles) (Confederate). Company B.[7]
- 36th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.[8]
- 36th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (2nd Kanawha Infantry) (Confederate). Company A (Buffalo Guards).[9]

Union

- 8th Regiment, West Virginia Infantry.[10]

Records and histories are available, including:

World War II

Putnam County, West Virginia World War II Casualties Army and Air Force

Naturalization

West Virginia,Naturalization Records, 1814-1991

Newspapers

Charleston Gazette

Probate

Putnam County, West Virginia Will Books 1847 - 1968

West Virginia Will Books

Putnam County, West Virginia Wills

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. See also How to order West Virginia Vital Records or order electronically online.. Includes marriages 1848-1969 - free.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Putnam County Library Directory

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers.  The closest family history centers are in the Huntingon Family History Center and in the Charleston Family History Center

Putnam County Library


Web Sites

Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Putnam County, West Virginia. Page 745 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Putnam County, West Virginia," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Jack L. Dickinson, 8th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 25.
  5. Jack L. Dickinson, 16th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 60.
  6. Terry D. Lowry, 22nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 44.
  7. Scott C. Cole, 34th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 94.
  8. J.L. Scott, 36th and 37th Battalions Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 24.
  9. J.L. Scott, 36th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 36.
  10. Ronald R. Turner, 7th West Virginia Cavalry (Manassas, Va.: R.R. Turner, 1989). Digital version at Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb; FHL Book 975.4 M2t.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 13:34.
  • This page has been accessed 8,887 times.