Quatford, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  ShropshireGotoarrow.png  Shropshire Parishes

Quatford, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bridgnorth Borough; Stottesden
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Bridgnorth PLU
Registration District Bridgnorth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1602
Bishop's Transcripts: 1635
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridgnorth
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Royal Peculiar of Bridgnorth
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

QUATFORD (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union and borough of Bridgnorth, locally in the hundred of Stottesden, S. division of Shropshire, 2 miles(S. E.) from Bridgnorth. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Quatford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
QUATFORD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1665-1700

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1577-1812 1577-1835

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1635, 1813-1836 Marr 1635, 1816-1835 Bur 1635,1813-1836

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474590.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 623-627. Date accessed: 06 July 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 25 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 22:30.
  • This page has been accessed 703 times.