Quebec GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Quebec ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Welcome to Quebec, Je me souviens|
Quebec was first permanently settled by Europeans in 1600 at Tadoussac.
In common with much of New France (La Nouvelle-France), the territory known today as the province of Quebec (Le Québec) was first organized politically along feudal lines. Beginning in 1604, scores of concessions of land, known as seigneuries, were granted by the government to proprietors known as seigneurs. The potential for the creation of new seigneuries effectively ended in Quebec in 1763, with the English conquest, but the system remained intact, with modifications, for decades afterward.
A list of all of the seigneuries of New France, with the dates of their foundation is found at Wikipedia.fr. A list of the seigneuries of Quebec is found at memoireduquebec.com. A map of the seigneuries of Quebec, made by A. E. B. Courchesne in 1923, accompanies the list. Most seigneuries had a frontage of several miles along the Saint Lawrence river and estuary (Le fleuve Saint Laurent), or along a major river, although some seigneuries surrounded large lakes.
Eventually the county system introduced by the English supplanted the seigneuries for most purposes of interest to the family history researcher, but the seigneuries figure importantly in early records. Early baptismal records often refer to a newborn child's residence using the name of a seigneurie rather than a city or town.
The Fur Trade
- Mary's Genealogy Treasures - great research resource
- Originis. Stories of parishes, baptisms directories, marriages and burials, census, clergy biography demographic statistics. (In French)
- Message boards for localities in Quebec.
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- Quebec Birth and Baptisms (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Quebec, Catholic Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Quebec Notary Records (FamilySearch Historical Reocrds)
- Quebec, Quebec Judicial District, Guardianships (FamilySearch Historical Records
- Quebec Census, 1861 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- Quebec, Non-Catholic Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Help Expand the Wiki
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category Quebec Genealogy
- This page was last modified on 26 November 2015, at 02:53.
- This page has been accessed 38,753 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News