Quedgely, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Quedgely, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Quedgely, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dudstone and King's Barton; Whitstone
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Gloucester PLU
Registration District Gloucester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1569
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gloucester
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

QUEDGLEY (St. James), a parish, partly in the Middle division of the hundred of Dudstone and King's-Barton, but chiefly in the Upper division of that of Whitstone, union, and E. division of the county, of Gloucester, 3½ miles (S. W.) from Gloucester; containing the Woolstrop hamlet. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Quedgely, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
IARC = Internet Archive - free[4]
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
QUEDGELY PARISH (1559) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1559-1837

FHSO 1800-1836
FREG 1559-1836
IARC 1559-1757 (gaps) 1559-1753 (gaps) 1559-1876 (gaps)
JOIN 1559-1836
PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288769.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 623-627. Date accessed: 08 January 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  4. 'Extracts from Parish Registers, No. VII.: Quedgeley,' in Beaver H. Blacker, ed., Gloucestershire Notes and Queries, Vol. 3 (1887):87-91, 141-146, 217-221. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  5. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' Joiner's Marriage Index, accessed 29 January 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 May 2014, at 14:50.
  • This page has been accessed 919 times.