Queen Anne's County, MarylandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Queen Anne's County, Maryland ancestry, family history, and genealogy, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Queen Anne's County, Maryland|
Location in the state of Maryland
Location of Maryland in the U.S.
|Founded||April 9, 1706|
|Address|| Queen Anne's County Courthouse|
107 N. Liberty St.
Centreville, MD 21617
Queen Anne's County Website
Clerk Courts has marriage, divorce, court and land records.
Orphan's Court has probate records 1830 Census Missing.
Queen Anne's County Maryland History
- Named for Queen Anne of Great Britain, at the time was reigning when the county was formed (Ireland was added to her title in 1707.)
- Created 9 April 1706 from Talbot County.
- 15 June 1773, a part was taken off to create Caroline County.
- For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
- Queen Anne
- Lost census: 1890
- For a list of record loss in Maryland counties see: Maryland Counties with Burned Courthouses
Queen Anne's County Maryland Places/Localities
Queen Anne's County Maryland Genealogy Resources
For a more detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Queen Anne's County, Maryland Cemeteries.
The following is a list of cemeteries in Queen Anne's County:
Federal Census reports available 1790-1930 including slave and veterans schedules. For tips on accessing Queen Anne's County, Maryland census records online, see: Maryland Census.
Maryland State Archives' Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions identifies all churches known to have existed in Prince George's County, Maryland. It covers all denominations and includes record descriptions. The following records, taken from its collection, have been digitized and made available to view for free online:
- Protestant Episcopal (Church of England), St. Luke's Church, St. Luke's Parish, Church Hill, Md. (includes parish registers 1722-1957 and vestry minutes and papers 1729-1952) (sign in with username aaco and password aaco#)
St. Andrew's Chapel was a chapel of ease in St. Luke's Parish.
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
- Barnes, Robert W., F. Edward Wright, Vernon L. Skinner and Henry C. Peden. Colonial Families of the Eastern Shore of Maryland. 23 vols. Westminster, Md.: Family Line, 1996-2003; Lewes, Del.: Delmarva Roots and Colonial Roots, 2007. FHL US/CAN Book 975.21 D2b v. 1 ff. [Queen Anne's County families appear in Vols. 4-5, 7, 13, and 21.]
- [Brown] Brown, John B. "The Posthumous Son of William Turbutt Wright of Queen Anne's County, Maryland," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 53, No. 1 (Mar. 1964):46-50. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 53
- [Claiborne] Washington, S.H. Lee. "William Claiborne: His Parentage and Pedigree," The William and Mary Quarterly, 2nd Ser., Vol. 19, No. 4 (Oct. 1939):474-475. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- [Claiborne] Torrence, Clayton. "The English Ancestry of William Claiborne of Virginia: Part I: A Critical Study of the Traditionally Stated English Origins," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 56, No. 3 (Jul., 1948), pp. 328-343. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- [Claiborne] Torrence, Clayton. "The English Ancestry of William Claiborne of Virginia: Part II. The English Connection," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 56, No. 4 (Oct., 1948), pp. 431-460. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
- [Claiborne] Dorman, John Frederick and Claiborne T. Smith. Claiborne of Virginia, Descendants of Colonel William Claiborne, The First Eight Generations. Baltimore: Gateway Press, Inc., 1995.
- [Claiborne] Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. "William Claiborne, 1621 The George to Virginia," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 12, No. 1 (May/June 2003):3-7. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t
- [Paca] Harris, Mrs. Norris. "The Paca Family of Queen Anne's County, Maryland," The Maryland and Delaware Genealogist, Vol. 31, No. 2 (Spring 1990):69. FHL US/CAN Book 975 B2m.
- [Wright] Hardy, Stella Pickett. Colonial Families of the Southern States of America. New York: Tobias A. Wright, 1911. Digital version at Google Books - free.
- [Wright] Brown, John B. "The Posthumous Son of William Turbutt Wright of Queen Anne's County, Maryland," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 53 (1965):46-50.
The New Early Settlers of Maryland database is a great place to start searching for immigrants who had arrived in the colony by the 1680s. The database "comprises 34,326 entries from Gust Skordas' Early Settlers of Maryland and Carson Gibb's Supplement to the Early Settlers of Maryland." Available online, courtesy: Maryland State Archives.
Other Queen Anne's County immigration resources include:
- List of indentured servants and transported convicts from Europe who completed labor terms in Colonial Queen Anne's County, Maryland (work in progress), courtesy: Immigrant Servants Database. [Includes Richard J. Cox's abstracts of Maryland Gazette runaways.]
Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Queen Anne's County Deed Books (1706-present) have been uploaded to their website: MDLandRec.Net: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Maryland, Queen Anne's County on page 128.]
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Maryland, Queen Anne County, p. 154. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War service men from Queen Anne's County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Queen Anne's County.
- - 6th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Company K
- Queen Anne's County newspapers are identified in "Guide to Maryland Newspapers," available online, courtesy: Special Collections, Maryland State Archives.
- Probate Records, Colonial Index, 1634-1777 online at Maryland State Archives website - free
-  Queen Anne's County Tax List of 1783: This is an alphabetical index to names to all property owners assessed. The index cards at the Maryland State Archives include county, hundred, names of tracts of land and whether individuals were paupers or single males as provided in the law.
- Maryland Death Certificate Index 1898-1944, available online, courtesy: Vital Records Indexing Project, Maryland State Archives.
Queen Anne's County Maryland Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Queen Anne's County Maryland Genealogy Websites
- Queen Anne's County, MD History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Queen Anne's County.
- "Queen Anne's Co.," in Genealogical Sources in Periodicals at The Maryland State Archives.
- The Queen Anne's County MDGenWeb Project, a member of The MDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Queen Anne's County.
Queen Anne's County Maryland Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Queen Anne’s County, Maryland page 318, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883), 154. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive.
- ↑ USGS Map, Trails.com
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "5th Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/5th_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "6th Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/6th_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
- This page was last modified on 30 January 2015, at 04:41.
- This page has been accessed 13,332 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More