Queen Charlotte's Hospital Marylebone Rd, HammersmithEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngMiddlesex Gotoarrow.pngMiddlesex Parishes

Guide to Queen Charlotte's Hospital Marylebone Rd, Hammersmith, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

HAMMERSMITH (St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Kensington, Kensington division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex, 3½ miles (W. by S.) from London; Here are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

A chapel was built as part of the Queen Charlotte's Hospital, Marylebone Road, Hammersmith, and was opened in 1739. Many births and baptisms occurred within its walls during its operation. It was one of four lying-in hospitals established in Greater London in the mid-18th century. This hospital was principally intended for the "wives of poor industrious Tradesmen or distressed House-keepers" and the wives of soldiers and sailors. Queen Charlotte's Hospital admitted both single and married women. It was reorganised in 1809 and renamed in the honour of Queen Charlotte. It moved to Marylebone Road in 1813 and Goldhawke Road in 1940. Records are deposited in the LMA include patients' registers 1809-1949. For baptism registers 1881-1927 see the parish registers of St Mark, Old Marylebone Road held in the LMA.

London Metropolitan Archives. “Information Leaflet No 15, Records of Patients in London Hospitals.” (London: London Metropolitan Archives, 2000).

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438806.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Queen Charlotte's Hospital in Hammersmith on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 05 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,820 times.