Queenborough, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Queenborough, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Queenborough, Kent
Queenborough Holy Trinity Kent.jpg
Queenborough Holy Trinity Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Isle of Sheppey Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sheppey PLU
Registration District Sheppey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1719
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sittingbourne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Queenborough is a town on the Isle of Sheppey in the Swale district of Kent, see Queenborough Wikipedia The history of local government re-organisation is detailed at Queenborough -in-Sheppey Wikipedia

Queenborough Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you.

The church is of 14th century origins with additions in subsequent centuries and has been designated as a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British Listed Building.

Queenborough is a small town and harbour accessible at all states of the tide on the Isle of Sheppey two miles south of Sheerness.

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 6 (1798), pp. 233-245. Date accessed: 19 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website


Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis -


QUEENBOROUGH (Holy Trinity), a parish, having separate jurisdiction, and formerly a representative borough, in the union, and locally in the liberty of the Isle, of Sheppy, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E. division of Kent, 15 miles (N. E.) from Maidstone, and 45 (E. by S.) from London. There is a place of worship for Independents. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Kent County Council

Registration Services
Invicta House
County Hall
Maidstone
Kent ME14 1XX Telephone 08458 247 400 http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually. Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Queenborough, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Queenborough, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1719-1901
1719-1837
1719-1882
FS PRs 1754-1901 1776-1901

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Queenborough are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306870.


Kent Census 

Poor Law Unions

Sheppey Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 623-627. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 20:35.
  • This page has been accessed 2,033 times.