Quernmore, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Quernmore was created a district chapel in 1836 from, and lying within the boundary of Lancaster St Mary, Lancashire Ancient Parish.
The village consists of a small number of residential properties, mostly farm houses, nestling in the bottom of the small valley of the River Conder. The Methodist chapel lies at the heart of the community but is smaller than St Peter's, the Church of England church which lies isolated next to Quernmore Primary School.
There used to be one public house whose address is still the Temperance Hotel. The name used to be the Dog and Partridge (this name can still be seen on the electrical substation, 100m to the south). It became the Temperance Hotel after the construction of the Thirlmere Aqueduct, completed 1894, as a consequence of the rowdiness of the navvies working on the aqueduct. The public house closed in 1900. The premises became the post office and village store until closure in 2008.
The largest residential property is Quernmore Park, built in 1793 by the architect Thomas Harrison.
The valley has an ancient history. In 1970 a Roman pottery kiln was unearthed near the Friends Meeting House, and other kilns have been discovered in the local vicinity. In former times, the slopes of Clougha Pike which forms the eastern wall of the valley, were mined for millstone grit to form quern stones. There was some small scale coal mining and charcoal production. The valley also has two surviving watermills, one on the slopes towards Littledale and one at Conder Bottom whose mill pond now is used as a fishery. Quernmore was at one stage a Royal Forest.
Quernmore lies within the Forest of Bowland Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, although historically it maintained its own separate identity and even in medieval times, never came under the sway of the powerful Lordship of Bowland.
The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.
"QUERNMOOR, a township made a district with a chapel, in the parish of Lancaster. The chapel was erected in 1833, and dedicated to St. Peter."
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church of England
Quernmore chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Lancaster St Mary to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|QUERNMORE ST PETER Chapelry (1862) Indexes|
|LANCASTER ST MARY'S PARISH (1599) Indexes (ancient parish containing QUERNMORE Chapelry)|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Quernmore and comprising the whole ancient parish of Lancaster St Mary to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the LANCASTER ST MARY PARISH page.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306936. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 4 January 2013, at 05:24.
- This page has been accessed 406 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More