Quick Research Links - ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Contents

Research Sites

File:Finding Records of Your Ancestors Scotland 1855 To 1901.pdf

The above site takes you through the basic research sites for Scotland and seems to be very thorough.

Using the Scottish Church Records CD

  • This CD is an alphabetical index representing the entire Church of Scotland old parish registers (OPR’s) ranging from 1564 to 1864. Note: Civil Registration began in 1855.
  • It is used on the old DOS system in the Family Search Centers. When you insert it into the computer, you will have a choice of 5 programs to use and one of them is the Scottish Church Records.
  • You have a choice of searching for an individual record or a marriage record.
  • When you enter the individual name, the entire list for that name and variations for spelling that name appears and you can arrow or page down until you arrive at the year and father’s name you want.
  • When there, use the enter key and you will see further details such as the mother’s name and place of birth and/or christening and if you arrow down, you will find additional details such as the film number for that record.
  • When you find the correct record with the parents’ names, you can then search for additional children by using the F8 key. Usually, all of the children will be gathered to these parents, but sometimes some children are missing (the indexer missed them or they died and death records are scarce for some areas) and that is when you go back to the film and search for them the old fashioned way.
  • Also, with the names of the parents, you can search for their marriage, based on the birth year of the first child* and using the naming custom (following) you can determine the names of the parents’ parents.
  • First son is named after the father’s father.
  • First daughter is named after the mother’s mother.
  • Second son is named after the mother’s father.
  • Second daughter is named after the father’s mother.
  • The third son and daughter can be named after the father or mother abut it is usually up for grabs.
  • You can filter by going to the F10 tab in the lower right hand corner and enter how you want to filter, by location etc.
  • Explore these buttons – that is the only way you will get to understand it.

Quick Links

Scotland Old Counties pre 1974

Collections

Scotland births and Baptisms, 1564-1950 - https://www.familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://hr-search-api:8080/searchapi/search/collection/1771030

Learn More: Scotland Births and Baptisms (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Scotland Marriages, 1561-1950 - familysearch.org/search/collection

Learn More: Scotland Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)

General

General Links - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland

Wiki – this page displays a county map of Scotland where you can click on any county and be taken to the pages with the parishes listed.

Poorhouses - Scotland Poorhouses, Poor Law, Etc

Workhouses.org.uk

Statistical Accounts - Edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot

Deceased Online - Deceased online.com

Scotland’s People: The official online source of parish register, civil registration and census records: Scotlands people.gov.uk

Talking Scot – list of useful sites: Talking scot.com

Old Occupations in Scotland - Scots family.com/occupations

Note: The Roll of Edinburgh Burgesses and Guild Brethren 1406-1700 contains a glossary of even older names of occupations eg capillicarius (wigmaker); sartor (tailor); fosser (grave digger); faber ferrarius (blacksmith) etc., etc. Publ. 1929, Edinburgh, Scottish Record Society. (For individual queries on the Roll contact Scots Family).

Free sites – this is a good source. Scotlands family.com

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/scotland

Curious Fox - CuriousFox, the village by village contact site for anyone researching family history, genealogy and local history in the UK and Ireland. Curiousfox.com

Cyndi’s List – is free and very comprehensive. Cyndis list.com/scotland

Happy Haggis - The content of HappyHaggis is free and any advertising is subtle, so it doesn't distract you from what is important - finding the information you need. Happy haggis.co.uk

UKGDL – genealogical lists on the internet - UKGDL.org.uk

National Archives - National archives.gov.uk

Irregular Marriages

Irregular marriages - those not performed by the Church were outlawed in England in 1754 . The age when couples could marry without Parents consent was raised to 21. In Scotland the minimum age of marriage remained at 16.Scottish law only required the couple to declare they were Husband and Wife before two witnesses . English couples began to cross the border to take advantage of this and runaway marriages became common around border Towns especially Gretna Green on the Western border and Lamberton Toll on the Eastern border . Irregular marriages continued in Scotland until the law was changed in 1940.

The runaway marriage trade led to many offering their services and making a lucrative living as self styled "Priests". Very few were ordained Ministers . Couples were eager to pay to be married as quickly as possible before Parents in hot pursuit crossed the border and tried to stop the Wedding.

Scottish irregular and runaway marriage records information can be found at Gro-scotland.gov.uk/files2/family-records/irregular-border-and-scottish-runaway-marriages and Gro-scotland.gov.uk.

Scotland Record Selection Table:

Scotland Record Selection Table

Subdivisions of Scotland

Aberdeenshire – 8

Parishes -Aberdeenshire, Scotland Parishes

Map of Parishes – (at bottom of page) Aberdeenshire, Scotland Parishes

GENUKI

FHL Favorites FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/aberdeenshire

Websites

Angus (or Forfarshire) - 10

Parishes - Angus (or Forfarshire), Scotland

Map of Parishes – (at bottom of page) Angus (or Forfarshire), Scotland

FHL Favorites – FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/angusshire

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/ANS/index.html

Websites

Argyll – 12

Wiki – Parishes and Map of Parishes - Argyllshire, Scotland [:Category:Argyll]]

FHL Favorites - FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/argyllshire

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk

Websites

Ayrshire – 14

Wiki – Parishes and Map of Parishes

Ayrshire, Scotland

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/ayrshire

Websites

Banffshire – 7

Wiki – Parishes and Map of Parishes -

Banffshire, Scotland

GENUKI - Abd net.co.uk

FHL Favorites – FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland

Websites

Berwickshire – 27

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes - Berwickshire, Scotland

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/berwickshire

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/BEW

Websites

==== Bute – 13 ==== Note: The Isle of Bute, in the Firth of Clyde, is only 15 miles long and 3 miles wide. Bute is separated from the mainland of Scotland by a narrow channel called the Kyles of Bute. Much of the island consists of low hills, more reminiscent of Dorset than the Scottish Highlands. The south of the island is flatter than the north, and more fertile. Bute benefits from the warm Gulf Stream that enables palms and other tender plants to grow. In its heyday the Isle of Bute, and Rothesay in particular, was a magnet for tourists from Glasgow. Wiki – Rothesay parish comprehends the whole of the northern part of the Island of Bute which gives its name to the county. The population of Rothesay in 1837 was 6089 including 4924 in the burgh. Rothesay, Bute, Scotland

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/bute

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/BUT

[1]Websites *Genealogy links.net/uk/scotland/bute

Caithness – 1

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes -

Caithness-shire, Scotland

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/caithness

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/CAI

Websites

Genealogy links.net/uk/scotland/caithness]

Clackmannanshire – 18

Note: known as "The Wee County" due to it being the smallest county in Scotland.

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes - Clackmannanshire, Scotland

FHL Favorites –

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/CLK

Websites

Dumfriesshire - 29

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes - Dumfriesshire, Scotland

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/dumfriesshire FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/dumfriesshire Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/DFS

Websites

Dunbartonshire (or Dumbarton) - 16

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes - Dunbartonshire, Scotland

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/dunbartonshire

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk

Websites

East Lothian (or Haddingtonshire) - 21

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes - East Lothian (or Haddingtonshire), Scotland

FHL Favorites – FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/east_lothian

GENUKI - Clerkington.plus.com/GENUKI/ELN

Websites

Edinburghshire (see Midlothian) – 22

Note: list of parishes are found under Midlothian

Wiki - [Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland]]

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/midlothian

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk

Websites

Elginshire (see Moray) - 6

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes - Moray or Elginshire, Scotland Elgin, Moray, Scotland

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/moray

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk

Websites

Note: there are very few sites in Scotland for Elgin.

Fife (Kingdom of Fife) - 20

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes - Fife, Scotland

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/fife

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/FIF

Websites

Forfarshire (see Angus) – 10

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes Angus_(or_Forfarshire),_Scotland

FHL Favorites – FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/angusshire

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/ANS

Haddingtonshire (see East Lothian) - 21

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes - East Lothian (or Haddingtonshire), Scotland

FHL Favorites – FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/east_lothian

GENUKI - clerkington.plus.com/GENUKI/ELN

Inverness-shire – 4 (plus part of Lewis, Uist & Skye)

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes -Inverness-shire,_Scotland

FHL Favorites – FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/invernnessshire

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/INV

Websites

Genealogylinks.net/uk/scotland/invernessshire]

Kincardineshire – 9 (the Mearns is the ancient designation)

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes -Kincardineshire,_Scotla..][[]]

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/kincardine

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk

Websites

Kinross-shire - 19

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes - [ttps://www.familysearch.org/learn/.../Kincardineshire,_Scotla.. Kinross-shire, Scotland]

FHL Favorites – FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/kinrosshire

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/KRS

Websites

Kircudbrightshire - 30

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes - Kirkcudbrightshire, Scotland''

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/kirkcudbrightshire

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/KKD

Websites

Lanarkshire - 24

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes - ''Lanarkshire, Scotland''

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/lanarkshire

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/LKS

Websites

Linlithgowshire (see West Lothian) - 23

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes -''West Lothian (Linlithgowshire), Scotland''

FHL Favorites –

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/WLN

Note: Google - there are only one name entries and one to buy a genealogy directory of Linlithgowshire (I bet they copied our catalog).

Midlothian (or Edinburghshire) - 22

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes - ''Midlothian (Edinburghshire), Scotland''

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/midlothian

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/WLN

Websites

Moray (or Elginshire) - 6

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes – ''Elgin, Moray, Scotland''

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/moray

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/MOR

Websites

Nairnshire - 5

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes - ''Nairnshire,Scotland''

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/nairnshire

GENUKI [2][3][4]

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/nairnshire

Websites

Orkney Islands

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes -''Orkney, Scotland''

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/OKI

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/orkney

Websites

Peeblesshire - 25

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes – ''Peeblesshire Scotland''

FHL Favorites – broken link

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/PEE

Websites

Perthshire - 11

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes – ''Perthshire,Scotland''

FHL Favorites - http://fhlfavorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/perthshire.htm

GENUKI - http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/sct/PER/index.html

Websites

Renfrewshire - 15

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes – ''Renfrewshire, Scotland''

FHL Favorites - FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/renfrewshire

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/RFW

Websites

Ross & Cromarty – 3 ( plus part of Lewis)

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes –''Ross & Cromarty, Scotland''

FHL Favorites – FHL favorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/ross__cromarty

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/ROC

Websites

Roxburghshire - 28

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes –Roxburghshire,_Scotland

FHL Favorites - http://fhlfavorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/roxburghshire.htm

GENUKI - http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/sct/ROX/index.html

Websites

Selkirkshire - 26

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes – Selkirkshire,_Scotland

FHL Favorites – broken link

GENUKI - http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/sct/SEL/index.html

Websites [5]

Shetland (or Zetland) Islands -

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes – Shetland_(or_Zetland),_Scotland

FHL Favorites – http://fhlfavorites.info/Links/British/Scotland/Shetland.htm

GENUKI - http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/sct/SHI/index.html

Websites

Stirlingshire - 17

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes – ''Stirlingshire, Scotland''

FHL Favorites – broken link

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/STI

Websites

Sutherland - 2

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes –''Sutherland, Scotland''

FHL Favorites – broken link

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/SUTselkirks

Websites

West Lothian (or Linlithgowshsire) – 23 (Linlithgowshire until 1921)

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes – ''West Lothian (Linlithgowshire), Scotland''

FHL Favorites – broken link

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/WLN

Websites

Wigtonshire - 31

Wiki - Parishes and Map of Parishes -''Wigtonshire, Scotland''

GENUKI - Genuki.org.uk/big/sct/WIG

FHL Favorites - '

More Quick Links

''Quick Research Links - England'' 

[[Quick Research Links - Ireland]

''Quick Research Links -The Channel Islands''

[[Quick Research Links - Wales]

Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 October 2014, at 01:59.
  • This page has been accessed 5,260 times.