Quitman County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Quitman County
Guide to Quitman County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Quitman County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of [[Georgia]] | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 10, 1858 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Georgetown |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Quitman County Courthouse] PO Box 114 Georgetown, GA 31754-0114 Phone: 912.334.2578 Quitman County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Quitman County Courthouse
PO Box 114
Georgetown, GA 31754-0114
Phone: 912.334.2578
Clerk Superior Court has birth records from 1927,
marriage records from 1919, divorce records,
divorce and court records from 1923 and land
records from 1879[1]
History
Local histories are available for Quitman County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1858--Quitman County was created 10 December 1858 fromRandolph and Stewart Counties.
County seat: Georgetown [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1920 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged.
For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Georgetown Cemetery [3]
Georgetown Cemetery Private (Afr-Am) [4]
List of Cemeteries in Quitman County: http://usgwarchives.net/ga/quitman/cemetery.html
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Georgetown Baptist Church [5]
http://usgwarchives.net/ga/quitman/cemetery.html
Court
http://usgwarchives.net/ga/quitman/court.html
Administration & Guardianship Bonds
Bland, Jasper Orphans David and Jasper (Bond) 1899
Bland, Mary J. Belcher (Guardianship) 1872
Dowdy, Woodson H. Orphans (Guardianship) 1865
Guerry, T. S. (Guardianship) 1865
Griffin, Lunsford Eleanor and children (Exemplification) 1864
Guilford, J. M. (Guardianship) 1894
Harrison, William Orphans (Guardianship) 1866
Kaigler, Orphans (Guardianship) 1898
Matthews, Lucy C. and John W. (Guardianship) 1864
Moore, William F. (Guardianship) 1864
Ogletree, J. E. (Request to Sell Land) 1893
Phillips, J. E. (Guardianship)
Slayton, Mary (Bond) 1864
Whitaker, John Bland Minors (Estate) 1898 [6]
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
http://georgiainfo.galileo.usg.edu/histcountymaps/quitman1863map.htm
Military
http://usgwarchives.net/ga/quitman/military.html
Military - War of 1812
1883 Pensioners
Military - Civil War
11th Regiment Company I
11th Ga Regiment Company I History
51st Regiment Company G
61st Regiment Company F
Civil War from "The Quitman Echo"
Quitman Grays History From "The Quitman Echo"
Military - World War I Description
Tye, J. P. WWI Draft 1917
World War I from "The Quitman Echo" [7]
Newspapers
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Quitman County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Quitman County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Quitman County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
USGenWeb has transcriptions for some newspaper articles.
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
http://usgwarchives.net/ga/quitman/vitals.html
1919 Death Index
1920 Death Index
1921-1924 Death Index
1926 Death Index
1927 Death Index
1928 Death Index
1929 Death Index
1930 Death Index
Barrett, Elizabeth 1923
Harrell, Hugh L 1969 [8]
1875 - 1885 Marriages
1875 - 1885 Marriages (Partial)
1885 - 1891 Marriages Surnames A - L
1885 - 1891 Marriages Surnames M - Z [9]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Quitman County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Quitman County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Quitman Echo by Eldridge and Shepard
- ↑ The Quitman Echo by Eldridge and Shepard
- ↑ The Quitman Echo by Eldridge and Shepard
- ↑ http://usgwarchives.net/ga/quitman/court.html
- ↑ http://usgwarchives.net/ga/quitman/military.html
- ↑ http://usgwarchives.net/ga/quitman/vitals.html
- ↑ http://usgwarchives.net/ga/quitman/vitals.html
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 May 2013, at 00:02.
- This page has been accessed 1,310 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

