Racine County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Racine County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Racine County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Racine County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Racine
Courthouse
Address Adams County Courthouse
730 Wisconsin Avenue
Racine, WI 53403
Phone: 262.636.3121
Racine County Courthouse
WI Racine.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Racine County Courthouse
730 Wisconsin Avenue
Racine, WI 53403
Phone: 262.636.3121

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1876,
marriage and land records from 1837, death
records from 1853 and veterans records from 1918;
Family Court has divorce records from 1940;
Probate Court has probate records 1846;
Clerk Court has court records from 1970 [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1836--Racine County was created 7 December 1836 from Milwaukee County.  County seat: Racine [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1885 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1885 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

Church History and Records

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Racine
Lutheran
  • Records of United Evangelical Lutheran Church, Racine, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Volga Germans had many settlements in Racine county. To find out more about Volga Germans click here. This site gives resources to help you with your Volga German research, including a mailing list to help you communicate with others in the same ethnic group. They have indexed and made searchable over 100,000 names. You can search by name or village name and the search leads you to sites where that name or village can be found.

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Racine County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Racine County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company G

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 759 Racine Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 5,515 times.