Radcliffe, St Mary LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Parish History
RADCLIFFE St Mary [1557], a parish, in the union of Bury, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 8 miles north by northwest of Manchester. The parish is one of the smallest in the county, and has no dependent townships.
A separate chapel was erected in 1819, called St. Thomas's district, Radcliffe-Bridge.
There are places of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.[1]
Radcliffe St Mary is an Ancient Parish and mother church to Radcliffe St Thomas, Lancashire
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Online Records
Radcliffe St. Mary parish registers and those registers of all of its smaller chapelries lying within its boundaries have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| RADCLIFFE ST MARY PARISH (1557) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1557-1916 | 1560-1874 | 1756-1925 | ||
| LOPC | 1557-1673, 1680-1783, 1813-1851 | 1560-1770, 1831-1897 | 1558-1783, 1813-1833, 1841-1925 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1900 | 1837-1900 | 1837-1879 | ||
| FMP | None | 1560-1766 | None | ||
| AC | 1557-1783 | 1560-1761 | 1557-1783 | ||
| FREG | 1828-1851 | 1831-1864 | 1841-1914 | ||
| RADCLIFFE ST ANDREW Chapelry (1877) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | 1877-1898 | None | 1877-1908 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1878-1900 | None | ||
| RADCLIFFE ST THOMAS Chapelry (1819) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1863-1910 | 1874-1935 | 1863-1964 | ||
| LOPC | 1819-1825, 1878 | None | 1877-1921 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1849-1900 | None | ||
Parish registers for St. Mary's Church, Radcliffe, 1557-1950 Microfilm of original records at the Manchester Public Library (1960), and formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England. Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: L210/1/1/1-3, L210/1/2/1, L210/1/3/1-8, L210/1/4/1-11, L210/1/5/1.
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1557-1783 (marriages to 1761). Baptisms, burials, 1783-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1827 (includes St. Thomas' Church, Radcliffe, entries from 31 December 1819 to 25 September 1825, and also 1837). |
FHL BRITISH Film 2357437 Items 2 - 6 |
| Baptisms, 1828-1931. Marriages, 1761-June 1831. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2357466 |
| Marriages, May 1831-February 1897. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2357467 |
| Marriages, February 1897-1950. Burials, 1813-July 1841. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2357468 |
| Burials, May 1841-1925. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2357469 Items 1 - 7 |
| Baptisms, 1783-1851; marriages, 1761-1837; and burials, 1783-1850. (another filming) |
FHL BRITISH Film 506450 Item 1 |
Original Records
The Lancashire Record Office at Bow Lane, Preston PR2 1RE, holds the original parish registers in its vast collections. Contact their website for contact information.
The Family History Library has microfilmed the parish registers and Bishop's transcripts of Radcliffe St. Mary parish for the years 1557-1918. These films are available for ordering/circulating and researching at any one of its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306933. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
www.radcliffeparishchurch.org.uk/
References
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 627-630. Adapted.  Date accessed: 20 July 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 February 2013, at 05:38.
- This page has been accessed 451 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
