Radcliffe on Trent, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Radcliffe on Trent, Nottinghamshire
Radcliffe on Trent St Mary Nottinghamshire.jpg
Radcliffe on Trent St Mary Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bingham PLU
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1632
Bishop's Transcripts: 1626
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of St John of Jerusalem or Shelford St Johns
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

RATCLIFFE-ON-TRENT (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bingham, S. division of the wapentake of Bingham and of the county of Nottingham, 5½ miles (E. by S.) from Nottingham. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Radcliffe-on-Trent St Mary is an Ancient parish in the Rushcliffe district of Nottinghamshire.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project has researched this parish history St Mary

The parish church of St Mary has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building A group of 99 headstones are also listed.

See Radcliffe-on-Trent Wikipedia

This parish should not be confused with Ratcliffe on Soar, Nottinghamshire Ratcliffe on the Wreake, Leicestershire Radcliffe, Lancashire The City of Manchester contains a suburb named Radcliffe which is served by a stop on the local Metrolink light rail system, consequently both settlements are listed on the National Rail network.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Radcliffe on Trent St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
RADCLIFFE ON TRENT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1633-1812

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1632-1969 Marriages 1633-1959 Burials 1632-1951 Bishop's Transcripts 1626-1831
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Radcliffe on Trent

Radcliffe on Trent.  A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1732, giving surname, given name, date of death and age.  The original is held at Nottinhamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/26   and article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine vol. 64, pages 20-21, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438903.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 17:12.
  • This page has been accessed 872 times.