Radford St Peter, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Radford St Peter, Nottinghamshire
Radford St Peter Nottinghamshire.jpg
Radford St Peter Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Radford PLU
Registration District Radford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

RADFORD (St. Peter), a parish, and the head of a union, in the S. division of the wapentake of Broxton, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 1 mile (W. by N.) from Nottingham. The Peverel court is held in Radford, to try please its jurisdiction and extends over the whole of the honour of Peverel, and several in the counties of Leicester and York. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Radford St Peter is an Ancient parish which included New Coleorton and Kensington. the district is now close to the City centre but was formerly a village and the church was rebuilt in 1812.

The church of St Peter Hartley Road Nottingham has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

see also St Peter's Church Radford Wikipedia Radford Nottingham Wikipedia
From this parish were formed

Radford St Michael and All Angels, Nottinghamshire

New Radford, Christ Church, Nottinghamshire

Radford All Souls, Nottinghamshire Lenton Boulevard (1894)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Radford St Peter, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
RADFORD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Radford St Peter

Radford St Peter's Church Rate and Arrears Books.  Radford St Peter's Church Rate Book is dated 1850-1851 with person's name and the amount, page 1-61.  Radford St Peter's Church Rate Arrears Book 1828, pages  62-82, with a surname index at the back of the articles, also available at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 18,224. originally transcribed by Bryan Bailey. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Maga. vol. 128, pages 1-85, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

St Peter's Church Rate Book Old and New Radford 1823-1824. Includes picture of St. Peter's Church, and map of the village, Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 102, page 1-30, Rates Old Radford 1825-1826, 1827-1828, vol. 102, pages 31-66, with an alphabetical listing of surnames, at back of the article. Original held at the Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 14,670 and PR 14,671.also 1825-1828 and 1833-1836, in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol 112, pages 1-73, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Radford St Peter's Banns Registers 1853-1859.  A photograph of St Peter's Church Radford, and a map of the area with a copy of the Radford Banns Register 1853-1859, with a list of the bride and grooms names, the date and if one of them was from another Parish.  Also included is Candidates for Confirmation. Has a surname index at the back with the page number.  This is available at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 17,501 and PR 17,502, and also in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 106, pages 1-85. FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n.

Radford St. Peter's Marriages 1813-1837. The Index is arranged alphabetically  by male surname, then the brides name beside it, with the date of marriage.  In the latter part of the article, the brides are listed with the page number beside it, relevant to the matching grooms. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 42, pages 1-59, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Radford St Peter's Overseers of the Poor Day Book 1811-1821.  Article gives an alphabetical listing of the people that were given Meat, Fish and bread with the number of children also,  Article held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 14,746.  Transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 111, pages 44-90, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 428906.

See Nottinghamshire Census

1821 Census - Radford.  Gives forename, surname, number of males and females in the household.  Original article held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 14,751, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 95, pages 41-51, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Radford Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Transcribed by Boot, Sam. Radford St Peter's Poor Rate Assessment 1807. A rate  or assessment made on the several Inhabitants and Occupiers of Land within the Parish of Radford for and towards the necessary relief of the Poor with in the said Parish at the rate of two Shillings in the pound made and approved 24 December 1807.  A list of names and the amount given.  Available from the Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 14,691, and also in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 123, pages 60-75, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 August 2014, at 15:14.
  • This page has been accessed 1,895 times.