Rainford, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Chapel History
RAINFORD,a chapelry, in the parishand union of Prescot, hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 4½ miles north by northwest of St Helen's. The chapel, dedicated to All Saints, is mentioned in an episcopal order, in 1634; it has been twice rebuilt, in 1758 and 1781.
A place of worship is found here for Independents.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Online Records
Church of England
Rainford chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Prescot to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£) | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| RAINFORD ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1702) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1765-1881 | 1800-1837, 1876-1877 | 1765-1867 | ||
| LOPC | 1676-1686, 1697-1700, 1718-1881 | 1719-1868 | 1718-1870 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1974 | None | None | ||
| AC | 1702-1812 | 1704-1812 | 1702-1812 | ||
| FREG | 1765-1833 | None | 1765-1812 | ||
| JOIN | 1813-1837 | ||||
| PRESCOT ST MARY PARISH (1531) Indexes (ancient parish containing RAINFORD Chapelry) | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1580-1632, 1770-1776, 1813-1828, 1861-1900 | 1576-1900 | 1770-1775, 1812-1900 | ||
| LOPC | 1665-1900 | 1667-1837, 1845-1900 | 1665-1900 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1961 | 1911-1969 | None | ||
| AC | 1531-1666 | 1531-1666 | 1531-1666 | ||
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Rainford and comprising the whole ancient parish of Prescot to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PRESCOT ST MARY PARISH page.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306904. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 630-633. Adapted. Date accessed: 20 July 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 January 2013, at 05:27.
- This page has been accessed 257 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More