Rainow, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Rainow, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rainow, Cheshire
Rainow Holy Trinity Cheshire.jpg
Rainow Holy Trinity Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1765
Bishop's Transcripts: 1765
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RAINOW, is a village, a township-chapelry, and a sub-district, in Cheshire. The village stands 2¾ miles N E of Macclesfield railway station; and is much scattered. The chapelry contains also Harrop hamlet, it is in Prestbury parish. The post-town is, Macclesfield. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Rainow was created as an Ecclesiastical parish in 1785 a chapel in the Ancient parish of Prestbury, Cheshire and includes the hamlet of Harrop.

Holy Trinity Church was built in 1846, on land given by Joseph Harding, and consecrated in the same year. Rainow was originally a township and chapelry in Prestbury Parish of the Macclesfield Hundred but became a civil parish in 1866.

Jenkin Chapel was built by voluntary contributions in 1733. The church was originally dedicated to St. John the Baptist, but was only consecrated in 1894 when it was re-dedicated to St. John the Evangelist.

The chapel was not consecrated so people still had to walk over to Prestbury to be married. It was demolished in 1844 and part of the site made into a graveyard.

The first Wesleyan chapel was built on Billinge Brow in 1781 as a venue for travelling preachers. The buildings included a cottage to accommodate the preacher and a stable for his horse. This was closed and turned into cottages when a successor was built in the village at what became Chapel Brow. This second chapel was demolished, leaving the Chapel House and its small graveyard, when the current Wesleyan Chapel was erected in 1878.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church records

Rainow Holy Trinity registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Rainow Holy Trinity Parish (1765) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1765-1787, 1792-1840, 1843-1894


FS PR's 1770-1896
  NONE
1846-1934
  NONE
1797-1895
  NONE
FS BT'S 1765-1894
  NONE
1868-1868
  NONE
1822-1894
  NONE
FMP (£)  


  
1815-1959
1815-1959
NBI

1815-1959

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Prestbury, St. Peter (C of E). The ancient parish church for Rainow.
Rainow, Holy Trinity (C of E). Founded 1765 as a chapel to Prestbury, serving part of Rainow township. Registers of Baptisms 1765–1992, Marriages 1846–1941 and Burials 1815–1959 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office

Registers of Baptisms 1770–1821, Marriages 1865–1921 and Burials 1770–1821 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office Cheshire Record Office reference: P188/3116/1/1-2, P188/3116/2/1-3, P188/3176, P188/3116/3, P188/3116/8, P188/6127/1-3.

Parish Registers Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1765-1788. BRITISH 2105692 Item 15
Marriages, 1846-1941. Baptisms and burials, 1770-1821. Burials, 1822-1895. Marriages, 1865-1921 (Saltersford-with-Kettleshulme). BRITISH 2105693 Items 1 - 8
Baptisms, 1841-1992. Banns of marriages, 1847-1957. Burials, 1895-1959. BRITISH 2262784 Items 4 - 6

Saltersford, St. John the Baptist. A chapel to Prestbury, created a separate parish in 1864 to serve Kettleshulme and part of Rainow township. The chapelry at Saltersford is called Saltersford-cum-Kettleshulme, and contains Kettleshulme and Rainow. It is in the parish of Prestbury. Cheshire Record Office reference: P/188/3116/8.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Marriages, 1865-1921. Baptisms and burials, 1770-1821. BRITISH 1656554 Items 6 - 7
Burials, 1813-1984, 1996. BRITISH 2262784 Item 7

The FamilySearch Catalog contains other material for the parish.

Non-Conformist Churches

Rainow, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Founded 1807, Built in 1878. Registers 1808–1837 and 1912–1975 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Microfilm of original records at the Public Record Office, London; and at the Cheshire Record Office, Chester. Cheshire Record Office reference: EMS 17/6/1.

Other Content FHL Film
Births, baptisms and burials, 1808-1836. BRITISH 20049 Items 12 - 13
Burials 1826-1836. BRITISH 1482352 Item 11
Marriages, 1912-1956. BRITISH 2299475 Item 13

Non-Conformist Records:

Registers 1808–1837 and 1912–1975 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Microfilm of original records at the Public Record Office, London; and at the Cheshire Record Office, Chester. Cheshire Record Office reference: EMS 17/6/1.

Other Content FHL Film
Births, baptisms and burials, 1808-1836. BRITISH 20049 Items 12 - 13
Burials 1826-1836. BRITISH 1482352 Item 11
Marriages, 1912-1956. BRITISH Film 2299475 Item 13

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Macclesfield (1837–1998)
  •  Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Rainow on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 25 Jan 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:37.
  • This page has been accessed 3,027 times.