Raleigh County, West VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png West VirginiaGotoarrow.png Raleigh County

Guide to Raleigh County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/West Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records


Raleigh County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Raleigh County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 23, 1850
County Seat Beckley
Courthouse
Raliegh County, west Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Address Raleigh County Courthouse
215 Main Street
Beckley, WV 25801
Phone: 304-255-9123
Raleigh County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death records form 1850
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records[1]

History

History of Beckley and Raleigh County
Early Settlers of Raleigh County, West Virginia by Judge W A Riffe
History of Fayette County, West Virginia Google Books

Parent County

1850--Raleigh County was created 23 January 1850 from Fayette County.  County seat: Beckley [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Raleigh countyCities and Towns

Raleigh County, West Virginia Landmarks

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Wvraleigh.jpg

Cemeteries

  Raleigh County, West  Virginia Cemetery Records (USGENWEB)

Raleigh County Tombstone Transcription Project

Individual Cemeteries:

Census

For tips on accessing Raleigh County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.


1880 Raleigh County, West Virginia Census

Church

  Raleigh County, West Virginia Bible Records (USGENWEB)

  Raleigh County, West Virginia Churches (USGENWEB)

Court

Family Histories

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Raleigh County, West Virginia Maps
Raleigh County, West Virginia

1895 Map Fayette County, West Virginia

Big Maps Fayette County, West Virginia Map

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Raleigh County, West Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Raleigh County, West Virginia:


Union

- 8th Regiment, West Virginia Infantry.[3]

Confederate

- 30th Battalion, Virginia Sharpshooters (Clarke's) (Confederate). Company A.[4]
- 34th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Witcher's Battalion, Virginia Mounted Rifles) (Confederate). Company K.[5]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization

West Virgina, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991


Newspapers
 

Beckley Register-Herald Newspaper Archives:

ATT: Libby Walker - Archives
801 N. Kanawha Street
P. O. Drawer P or R
Beckley, WV 25802
(304)255-4400 or
(800)950-0250

Probate

Raleigh County, West Virginia Will Books 1850 - 1969

West Virginia Will Books

Raleigh County, West VirginiaWills Courtesy The Riffe-Smith Collection

Raleigh County, West Virginia Obituaries

Taxation

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Births

West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. See also How to order West Virginia Vital Records or order electronically online.. Includes marriages 1890-1969 - free.

Marriage

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Web Sites

Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Raleigh County, West Virginia. Page 745 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Ronald R. Turner, 7th West Virginia Cavalry (Manassas, Va.: R.R. Turner, 1989). Digital version at Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb; FHL Book 975.4 M2t.
  4. Michael West, 30th Battalion Virginia Sharpshooters (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 108.
  5. Scott C. Cole, 34th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 94.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 November 2014, at 03:25.
  • This page has been accessed 10,608 times.