Ralls County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Ralls County

Guide to Ralls County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Ralls County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 16, 1820
County Seat New London
Courthouse
Address Ralls County Courthouse
311 S Main Street
New London, MO 63459
Phone: 573.985.7111
Ralls County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



County Clerk has birth and death records. 
Clerk has birth and deaht records 1883-1886;
Clerk Circuit Court and Recorder of Deeds has
marriage, divorce, court and land records from 1821;
probate Judge has probate records[1]

History

Parent County

1820--Ralls County was created 16 November 1820 from Pike County. County seat: New London [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Audrain  • Marion  • Monroe  • Pike County, Illinois  • Pike

Marion CountyPike CountyShelby CountyMonroe CountyMonroe CountyMontgomery CountyLincoln CountyAudrain CountyBoone CountyRandolph CountyLewis CountyKnox CountyCalhoun CountyPike CountyMacon CountyBrown CountyAdams CountyMORalls1.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Barkley Cemetery, New London, Missouri

Census

For tips on accessing Ralls County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Ralls County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Moralls.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 39th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
:- 11th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I
:- 1st Northeast Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company B
:- 53rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 53rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 53rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
:- 53rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Detached Company
:- 53rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Detached Company
:- 53rd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ralls County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1837-1866 - Ralls County Birth Index 1837-1866. Batch C515641 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1883-1893 - Ralls County Birth Index, Volume A, 1883-1893. Batch C582497 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883-1886 - Ralls County Death Index 1883-1886. Batches B582497 and B393549 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Ralls County Historical Society and Museum in Perry, Missouri.

    http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~morchs/

Ralls County Public Library in Center, Missouri

  see  http://www.rallscounty.org/

Hannibal Free Public Library in Hannibal, Missouri

These are all important depositories of Ralls County historical and genealogical materials.

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Ralls County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Ralls County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Ralls County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Ralls County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Ralls County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Ralls County Message Board

Wills

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ralls County, Missouri. Page 404 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 October 2014, at 16:09.
  • This page has been accessed 5,132 times.