Ramsbottom, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Ramsbottom, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ramsbottom, Lancashire
Ramsbottom St Paul contributor R Lee.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Bury PLU
Registration District Bury
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1850
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Prestwich
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

RAMSBOTTOM, (St Andrew’s), an ecclesiastical parish, in the parish and union of Bury, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 4½ miles north of Bury. This parish was established by the year 1847, under the provisions of the act 6th and 7th Victoria and is a mile and a quarter in length and about three-quarters of a mile in breadth, being in the township of Lower Tottington. The parish is separated from the northern part of Walmersley township by the river Irwell. The church was built in 1847. There are places of worship for Presbyterians, Wesleyan Methodists, Primitive Methodists, and Swedenborgians.[1]


The church of St. Paul is a stone building in the Early English style, erected by 1850 at a cost of £3,400, and consists of chancel, nave, vestry, north aisle, south porch, organ chamber and a tower with spire containing 8 bells, hung in 1879: the organ was the gift of the late W. Grant esq.: memorial windows have been inserted to the late Viscount Palmerston K.G. d. 18 Oct. 1865, W. Grant esq. of Nuttall, J. Heys esq. and others; and there is also a marble monument to the late J. Kellar esq. of Irwell Mount (1862): in 1866 an addition to the church. now called the Palmerston aisle, was made.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Ramsbottom chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Bury to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
RAMSBOTTOM ST PAUL Chapelry  (1850) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1844-1914 1850-1930 1851-1928
FS 1850-1854 None 1851-1854
LBMD 1899-1901 1850-1900 None
BURY ST MARY PARISH (1590) Indexes (ancient parish containing RAMSBOTTOM Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1590-1909 1591-1935 1785-1976
LOPC 1699-1844 1591-1849, 1860-1861 1699-1728, 1739-1748, 1759-1837
LBMD None 1837-1900 None
FMP None 1598-1760 None
AC 1590-1698 1590-1698 1590-1698
FREG 1590-1698, 1817-1846 1591-1646 1591-1699


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Ramsbottom and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bury to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BURY ST MARY PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306922.

Genealogy

MacRae, David:  The MacRaes of Barwood Lee.  History and family tree of John McRae and Alice Johnson his wife from 1779-1952. Article to be found in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Society Magazine, 1992, vol. 13, no. 2, pages 30-37, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r

Todd, A. A. The Title Deeds of a Ramsbottom Terraced House. Title Deeds, History, Maps, Photos and family tree of Richard Markland and Betty surname unknown, with the following surnames: Wild, Warr, Heys, Collin, Parkinson, Ward, and Hegen dating from 1862-1891, to be found in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. vol. 8, no.3, pages 32-41, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Bury Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 633-638.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,528 times.