Ramsey County, North DakotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Ramsey County, North Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
|Ramsey County, North Dakota|
Location in the state of North Dakota
Location of North Dakota in the U.S.
|Founded||January 4, 1873|
|County Seat||Devils Lake|
|Address|| Ramsey County Courthouse|
524 4th Ave #4
Devils Lake, ND 58301
Ramsey County Website
Clerk District Court has birth, death and burial records from 1890,
divorce and court records; County Judge has marriage and probate records;
Register of Deeds has land records
Bergen Lutheran Church, Starkweather
- Records of Bergen Lutheran Church, Starkweather, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
First Lutheran Church
- Records of First Lutheran Church, Ramsey County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
St. Olof's Lutheran Church, Devil's Lake
- Records of St. Olof's Lutheran Church, Devil's Lake, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. For more information on this, see North Dakota Land and Property.
After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages.
Local histories are available for Ramsey County, North Dakota. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section North Dakota Local Histories.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ramsey County, North Dakota newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records of North Dakota are at the clerk's office in each county courthouse. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of probate records from North Dakota. See the wiki page North Dakota Probate Records for additional information.
Some later estate records are available at: North Dakota Supreme Court
The Family History Library does not presently have copies of probate records from North Dakota. They are at the clerk's office in each county courthouse. See the Repository section for address of the clerk's office.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: dockets, guardians records, administrators records, real estate records, personal property records, and claim registers.
The location of tax records of North Dakota depend on the type of tax. Some are at the clerk's office in the county courthouse, while others are in the state archive. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of tax records from North Dakota.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the North Dakota Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Ramsey County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ramsey County, North Dakota. Page 525 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2013, at 22:09.
- This page has been accessed 1,549 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More