Ramsgate St George, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Ramsgate St George, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ramsgate St George, Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ringslow or Isle of Thanet
County Kent
Poor Law Union Thanet PLU
Registration District Thanet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1827; Separate registers exist for Ramsgate St Mary beginning 1791
Bishop's Transcripts: 1827
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westbere
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Ramsgate St George is one of the three oldest parishes in the town, see Historic Buildings in Ramsgate Wikipedia A map of the Parish boundary is available at A church near you

See also Ramsgate Wikipedia

Ramsgate St George was formed as a Ecclesiastical Parish from the Ancient Parish of St Laurence in Thanet, Kent in 1827 and included Ramsgate St Mary and Ellington.

The Parish church of St George, Church Hill, Ramsgate was built 1824-1827 and has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building See Kent Churches website


Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis -

RAMSGATE (St. George), a sea-port, market-town, and parish, in the cinque-port liberty of Sandwich, of which it is a member, union of the Isle of Thanet, locally in the hundred of Ringslow, or Isle of Thanet, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 4½ miles (S.) from Margate, 17 (E. N. E.) from Canterbury, and 72 (E.) from London. Here is a church called Christ Church. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, Calvinists, and Unitarians; and on the road to Broadstairs is a Jewish synagogue. [1]



Resources

Civil Registration

Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ramsgate St George, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
Ramsgate St George, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1827-1905 1827-1905 1563-1894 1563-1894 1827-1925 1827-1925

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Ramsgate St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Ramsgate St Mary Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1866-1912 1866-1912

FREG 1901-1932


Ramsgate St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Ramsgate St Paul Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1874-1904 1874-1904

Census records

Census returns for Ramsgate 1841-1891

Census returns for St. Peters-Ramsgate, 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Thanet Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 633-638. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,821 times.