Randolph County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Randolph County

Guide to Randolph County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Randolph County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 10, 1818
County Seat Winchester
Courthouse
Address Randolph County Courthouse
#307
Winchester, IN 47394
Phone: 765.584.7070
County Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

History of Randolph County, Indiana

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1819*
1882*
1820
1819
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed 10 January 1818 from Wayne County.[1]
  • County Seat: Winchester[2]



Neighboring Counties

Jay  • Delaware  • Henry  • Wayne  • Darke

Randolph CountyJay CountyBlackford CountyDelaware CountyHancock CountyRush CountyFayette CountyWayne CountyWayne CountyMercer CountyAuglaize CountyShelby CountyMiami CountyPreble CountyMontgomery CountyDarke CountyUnion CountyMadison CountyHenry CountyGrant CountyINRandolph.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Background

Randolph County was created on 10 January 1818 from a portion of Wayne County, Indiana. Frontier settlement had begun to reach the area by 1814. The county was named for old Randolph County, North Carolina, many settlers having moved westward from the Carolinas. Winchester was established as the county seat the same year the county was founded.

The first settlement was made in 1814 by a Quaker family, which was joined by five other families. By late 1816 the influx of new settlement and land entries grew rapidly. The years of most rapid growth were 1817-18 and 1836-37, much of the land purchased by speculators. The first school in Randolph County was built by Quakers in 1815. The first election was held in August 1818. The first road opened was the Quaker Trace in 1817, running from Richmond to Ft. Wayne. The first Court House was built in 1818. The first railroad through the county was the Indianapolis and Bellefontaine, completed in 1852-53.

Frame and brick structures, mills, orchards, factories, stores, hotels and banks followed.

Randolph County, Indiana Resources

Anti-slavery

Anti-slavery sentiments were common in Randolph County, as many early settlers had left the Carolinas to be free of the practice. Active supporters of the emancipation movement were found around 1816. The Underground Railroad functioned, and runaways were sheltered and assisted in their escape.

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

A number of cemeteries are listed on Find A Grave. Postings of Headstones are there as well. Some of the cemeteries are: Quaker Lynn Cemetery, White River Cemetery, Buenva Vista Cemetery and Jericho Cemetery.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Randolph County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Randolph County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories
  • Tucker, E. 1882. History of Randolph County, Indiana: with illustrations and biographical sketches of some of its prominent men and pioneers: to which are appended maps of its several townships. (Chicago: A.L. Klingman.) 977.266 H2t FHL US/CAN Large Q Book FHL Collectionother libraries  INTERNET ARCHIVE

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Randolph County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Migration

Military Records

War of 1812

Civil War

Civil War service men from Randolph County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Randolph County.

Civil War Books

  • "Military" Chapter 20 in Tucker, E. 1882. History of Randolph County, Indiana: with illustrations and biographical sketches of some of its prominent men and pioneers: to which are appended maps of its several townships. (Chicago: A.L. Klingman.), (page 238-296, Regiment, Company, some Name's), 977.266 H2t FHL US/CAN Large Q BookFHL Collection other libraries  INTERNET ARCHIVE

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Early newspapers were The Journal at Winchester, and The Times at Union City.Early banks were Citizens Bank and Commercial Bank of Union City, and Farmers and Merchants Bank and Randolph County Bank of Winchester.

Obituaries

Almost 7,000 obituaries from Randolph County and residents of Darke County, Ohio are included in the following newspapers and provided courtesy of Darke County Genealogical Researchers:

Occupations

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Randolph County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records
Voting Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives
County Courthouse

Randolph County Courthouse
#307
Winchester, IN 47394
Phone: 765.584.7070

County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records.
County Recorder has land records from 1818 and newspapers from 1876. [3]

Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Randolph County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Randolph County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Randolph County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

  • Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Birth Records
Marriage Records
Death Records

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Randolph County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Randolph County, Indiana Web Sites

Places

Winchester was the first town established in Randolph County. Lots were laid out in 1818 and the sales began in February the following year. The area was heavily timbered with unbroken forest. Buildings of hewed logs predominated.The town grew slowly.

Townships

Townships of Randolph County were organized as follows: Greensfork, 1818;White River, 1818; Ward,1820; Sto West River, 1831;Jackson, 1833; Green, 1834; Nettle Creek, 1835; Wayne, 1838; Monroe, before 1851; Franklin, 1859;Union, 1838; Salamonie, 1834; Madison, 1835.

Randolph County, Indiana References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Randolph County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Randolph_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Randloph County, Indiana 216 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:01.
  • This page has been accessed 11,410 times.