Rankin County, MississippiEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Rankin County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png  Mississippi Gotoarrow.png  Rankin County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records


Rankin County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Rankin County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 4 February, 1828
County Seat Brandon
Courthouse
Address Rankin County Courthouse
211 E Government Street
Brandon, MS 39042
Phone: 601.825.1469 Rankin County Courthouse]

Contents

County Courthouse

Rankin County Courthouse
211 E Government Street
Brandon, MS 39042
Phone: 601.825.1469


Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate, and land records from 1829.

Beginning Dates for Rankin County, Mississippi Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1829
1829

History

Parent County

1828--Rankin County was created 4 February 1828 from Hinds County.
County seat: Brandon [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Seven Incorporated cities

  • Brandon incorporated in 1831; population >17,317
  • Pearl incorporated in 1973; population>21961
  • Florence incorporated in 1905; also known as Steen's Creek; population >2400
  • Flowood incorporated in 1953; population >5000
  • Pelahatchie-named from Choctaw word meaning 'crooked creek,' incorporated in 1904; population 1500
  • Puckett community; population 400
  • Richland incorporated in 1975; >6000'

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Rankin County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Baptist

Brandon Baptist Church
Crossgates Baptist
First Baptist Church of Brandon
Pinelake Baptist

Christian

Community Christian Church
New Life Christian Fellowship

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints-Brandon Ward

Episcopal

St. Luke's Episcopal Church, Brandon

  • 1858-1927 - St. Luke's Episcopal Church, Brandon, Baptism Index 1858-1927. Batch C714341 at FamilySearch - free.[2]
  • 1842-1921 - St. Luke's Episcopal Church, Brandon, Marriage Index 1842-1921. Batch M714341 at FamilySearch - free.[2]
Methodist

Crossgates United Methodist Church

Pentecostal

First United Pentecostal Church

Presbyterian

Briarwood Presbyterian Church USA
Lakeside Presbyterian Church, E.P.C.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Rankin County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
  • Men from Rankin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Rankin County.
- 4th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company E - Ramsey’s Company
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company G - Rankin Rifles
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
Company H - Rankin Rifles [also listed as Co. A]
- 6th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company A - Rankin Rough & Readies
Company B - New Guard
Company I - Rankin Greys

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Rankin County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • Clarion Ledgar

Occupations

Probate Records

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage and Divorce
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Rankin County Historical Society
P.O. Box 841
Brandon, MS 39043

  • Brandon Public Library (601)825-2692
  • Central Mississippi Regional Library System (601) 825-0100
  • G. Chastaine Flynt Memorial Library (601) 919-1911
  • Pelahatchie Public Library (601) 854-8764
  • Reservoir Library (601) 992-2539
  • Richland Public Library (601) 932-1836


Family History Centers

Websites

County Courthouse

Rankin County Courthouse
211 E Government Street
Brandon, MS 39042
Phone # 601-825-2217


Rankin County; 211 E Government St; Brandon, MS 39042; Ph. 601.825.1469 Details: (Clk Chan Ct has div, pro & land rec from 1829)

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 September 2014, at 17:26.
  • This page has been accessed 7,266 times.