Rappahannock County, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
- This article is about a Virginia county formed in 1833. For other uses, see Rappahannock.
United States
Virginia
Rappahannock County
Guide to Rappahannock County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
| Rappahannock County, Virginia | |
| Map | |
| | |
![]() Location in the state of Virginia | |
![]() Location of Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 1833 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Washington |
| Courthouse | |
Rappahannock County, Virginia Courthouse
Rappahannock County, Virginia
238 Gay Street
P O Box 116
Washington, Virginia 22747
Phone: 540-675-3621
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate
and court records from 1833, land records from 1838
and some personal property records from 1834[1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1853 | 1833 | 1853 | 1840 | 1833 | 1833 |
Rappahannock County, Virginia History
The county is named after the Rappahannock River.
Parent County
1833--Rappahannock County was created 8 February 1833 from Culpeper County.
County seat: Washington [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
- Lost census: 1890
Rappahannock County, Virginia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy Resources
African American
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
Cemeteries
- Tombstone Transcription Project Rappahannock County - cemetery transcriptions - USGenWeb
Bible Records
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
Census
For tips on accessing Rappahannock County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1840 | 9,257 | ||
| 1850 | 9,782 | 5.7% | |
| 1860 | 8,850 | −9.5% | |
| 1870 | 8,261 | −6.7% | |
| 1880 | 9,291 | 12.5% | |
| 1890 | 8,678 | −6.6% | |
| 1900 | 8,843 | 1.9% | |
| 1910 | 8,044 | −9.0% | |
| 1920 | 8,070 | 0.3% | |
| 1930 | 7,717 | −4.4% | |
| 1940 | 7,208 | −6.6% | |
| 1950 | 6,112 | −15.2% | |
| 1960 | 5,368 | −12.2% | |
| 1970 | 5,199 | −3.1% | |
| 1980 | 6,093 | 17.2% | |
| 1990 | 6,622 | 8.7% | |
| 2000 | 6,983 | 5.5% | |
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Church Records
Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):
- Culpeper Monthly Meeting (1777-1797)[3]
Court
Genealogy
Several genealogies have been published about Rappahannock County families. To view a list, visit Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy.
Land and Property
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Revolutionary War
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at [1]Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Rappahannock County on page 133.]
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Rappahannock County, p. 100. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War
Regiments. Service men in Rappahannock County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Rappahannock County, Virginia:
- - 6th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B (Rappahannock Cavalry) and Company C (Rockingham Cavalry, River Rangers).[4]
- - 7th Battalion, Virginia Infantry, Local Defense (1st Nitre Battalion) (Confederate). Company B (Rappahannock Guard) and Company G (Sperryville Sharpshooters).[5]
- - 12th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G.[6]
- - 49th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Sperryville Sharpshooters) and Company I (Rappahannock Rifles).[7]
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
Newspapers
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Rappahannock County, Virginia newspapers.
Private Papers
- Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
- [Gibson] Davis, Bruce G. "Gibson Family Bible, Rappahannock County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1970):163-164. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Probate Records
Will Book A, 1833-1842 (digital images) Virginia Pioneers ($)
Will Book B, 1842-1849 (digital images) Virginia Pioneers ($)
Will Book C, 1849-1855 (digital images) Virginia Pioneers ($)
Will Book D, 1855-1866 (digital images) Virginia Pioneers ($)
Research Guides
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Rappahannock County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1977):220-222. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Taxation
Vital Records
Indexes to Rappahannock County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Birth
Marriage
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1854-1930 - Rappahannock County, Virginia, Marriages 1854-1930 - free.
Vital Record Substitutes
| For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church History and Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Rappahannock County, Virginia USGENWEB
- Family History Library Catalog
- Virginia Pioneers Virginia Pioneers ($)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Rappahannock County, Virginia. Page 720 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
- ↑ Michael P. Musick, 6th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 66.
- ↑ David F. Riggs, 7th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 3.
- ↑ Dennis E. Frye, 12th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 42.
- ↑ Richard B. Kleese, 49th Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 2002). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 138.
- ↑ 8.0 8.1 8.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 3 May 2013, at 20:02.
- This page has been accessed 3,516 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



