Ratcliffe on Soar, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Ratcliffe on Soar Holy Trinity .jpg

Contents

Parish History

RATCLIFFE-ON-SOAR (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Shardlow, N. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 1½ mile (N. by E.) from Kegworth. The navigable river Soar flows through the parish.[1]

Additional information:

Ratcliffe on Soar Holy Trinity is an Ancient parish in Nottinghamshire; the church has been designated a grade I listed building by English HeritageBritish listed buildings

The Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the parish Ratcliffe on Soar

see also Ratcliffe-on-Soar Wikipedia

This parish should not be confused with Ratcliffe on the Wreake, Leicestershire or Radcliffe on Trent, Nottinghamshire

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Ratcliffe and Soar registration transferred to the Basford registration district on 1 January 1937.

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Ratcliffe on Soar Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
RATCLIFFE ON SOAR PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1624-1812

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1597-2003 Marriages 1624-2002 Burials 1624-2006 Bishop's Transcripts 16727-1854
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ratcliffe on Soar

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 728 times.