Rathmel in CravenEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.pngWest Riding of YorkshireGotoarrow.png Rathmel in Craven

Rathmel in Craven
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincliff and Ewcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Settle PLU
Registration District Settle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Craven
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Rathmel in Craven is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1841 from Giggleswick Ancient Parish.

RATHMELL, a township, in the parish of Giggleswick, union of Settle, W. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York, 4 miles (S. W. by S.) from Settle. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Rathmel in Craven parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
RATHMEL IN CRAVEN ECCLESIASTICAL PARISH (1***) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

IARC None

None

None

For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Rathmel in Craven to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Rathmel in Craven page.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464272.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 638-640. Date accessed: 25 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 15:38.
  • This page has been accessed 588 times.