Ravenstonedale, Westmorland GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Ravenstonedale, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||East Ward PLU|
|Registration District||East Ward|
|Parish registers: 1571|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1667|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Ravenstonedale|
|Location of Archive|
|Westmorland Record Office|
RAVENSTONEDALE (St. Oswald), a parish, in East ward and union, county of Westmorland, 4¾miles (S. W.) from Kirkby-Stephen. There is a place of worship for Independents.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Ravenstonedale, Westmorland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|RAVENSTONEDALE PARISH Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464189.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:45.
- This page has been accessed 1,005 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More