Rawlins County, KansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kansas
Rawlins County
Rawlins County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| Rawlins County, Kansas | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Kansas | |
![]() Location of Kansas in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 6, 1873 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Atwood |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | Rawlins County Courthouse 607 Main Street Atwood, Kansas 67730-1896 Phone: 785.626.3351 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Rawlins County Courthouse
607 Main Street
Atwood, KS 67730-1896
Phone: 785.626.3351
Register of Deeds has land records.
Probate Court has probate records. [1]
History
Parent County
1873--Rawlins County was created 6 March 1873 from unorganized territory. County seat: Atwood [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
- Cheyenne
- Decatur
- Dundy County, Nebraska
- Hitchcock County, Nebraska
- Red Willow County, Nebraska
- Sherman
- Thomas
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
- Rawlins County was not organized until after the Civil War.
Newspapers
Obituaries of Chessmore Relatives
JoAnn Chessmore Hall has these obituaries, contact at jchall@qwest.net
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Kansas GenWeb is an excellent source information for vital records and cemeteries.
- Rawlins County, Kansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Rawlins County, Kansas page 255, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 February 2013, at 18:03.
- This page has been accessed 1,102 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

