Reculver, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Reculver, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Reculver, Kent
Reculver St Mary Kent.jpg
Reculver St Mary Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bleangate
County Kent
Poor Law Union Blean PLU
Registration District Blean
Records begin
Parish registers: 1602
Bishop's Transcripts: 1565
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westbere
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

The ruined towers of St Mary's Church are the dominant feature in Reculver, see Reculver Wikipedia for a detailed history of the church and its ruin, the loss of the coastal town and the absorption of the civil parish into Herne Bay.

Reculver's parish boundary, remained the same for both ecclesiastical and civil purposes until 1934. Included were Reculver, Hillborough, Bishopstone and Brook (now Brook Farm), though the parish extended west almost to Beltinge, in Herne parish, and to Broomfield in the south-west – where the boundary with Herne parish ran along the centre of the main thoroughfare, now Margate Road – and it was bounded in open country on the south-east and east by the parish of Chislet. In 1934, the civil functions of the parish were merged into the civil parish of Herne Bay.

The replacement church for Reculver was built at Hillborough: St Mary The Virgin Reculver has a parish boundary map at A church near you  and was built in 1813 but was replaced in 1876 and consecrated in 1878.

The Parish Church of St Mary the Virgin, Reculver Lane, Canterbury has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building

See also Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 109-125. Date accessed: 23 September 23013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See also Reculver Abbey at Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Blean Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Reculver, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3][4]
Reculver, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1602-1912 1602-1912 1603-1928; 1754-1927 (Banns) 1603-1928; 1754-1927 (Banns) 1602-1807 1602-1807

Census records

1841 Census returns for Reculver are missing.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 193526.


Kent Census 

Poor Law Unions

Blean Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

RECULVER (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Blean, hundred of Bleangate, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 10 miles (N. E. by N.) from Canterbury. [5]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reculver on GENUKI

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 645-652. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,951 times.