Reddal Hill, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Reddal Hills, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Reddal Hill, Staffordshire
Old Hill Holy Trinity Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Dudley PLU
Registration District Dudley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: 1845
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kidderminster
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

REDDAL-HILL, an ecclesiastical parish, in the parish of Rowley-Regis, union of Dudley, N. division of the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (S. S. E.) from Dudley. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists, Baptists, and other dissenters.[1]

Reddal Hill was created in 1844 from Rowley Regis, Staffordshire Ecclesiastical Parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Reddal Hill (Cradley Heath) St Luke deposited registers at Dudley Archives  Parish registers

Bap 1845-1933 Marr 1847-1946 Bur 1847-1942 For earlier registers for Rowley Regis, Staffordshire see Sandwell Archives.Deposited Bishop's transcripts at Dudley Archives for this parish Bap 1845-1903 Marr 1847-1902 Bur 1847-1905

Cradley Heath was formerly part of this parish and Rowley Regis, Staffordshire Cradley Heath St Luke was formed in 1844 from part of both parishes and registers are at Dudley Archives.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474625.

Poor Law Unions

Dudley Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848)], pp. 645-652. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,068 times.