Redlingfield, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes  Gotoarrow.png Redlingfield

Redlingfield, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hartismere
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Hartismere PLU
Registration District Hartismere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1739
Bishop's Transcripts: 1565
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hartismere
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

Refer to Redlingfield and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Redlingfield is in Hartismere district. To search an index of Hartismere district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Redlingfield, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[1]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
Redlingfield, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1836
BOYD
1740-1836

NBI

1762-1901

The Parish Registers begin in 1739.  They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office.  A copy of the registers from 1739 to 1900 can be purchased from the  Suffolk Record Office.  For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hartismere Deanry, Archdeaconry of Sudbury. The Bishop Transcripts begin in 1565.  Parish Chest records are Lacking for Redlingfield.   See Suffolk Church Records for further details.  Redlingfield lies on the border between the Archdeaconry of Suffolk and Sudbury.

Census records

There are census records available for Redlingfield from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Redlingfield Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Prior to 1837 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Redlingfield was the Archdeaconry of Sudbury; from 1837 to 1858 it was in the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District..  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other items.
  • National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
    • Vision of Britain
    • Redlingfield, a parish, in the parliamentary borough of Eye, union and hundred of Hartismere, W. division of Suffolk, 3½ miles (S. E.) from Eye. [4]

Websites

References

  1. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  4. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 652-655. Date accessed: 02 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 733 times.