Redruth, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Redruth, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Redruth, Cornwall
St Uny's Church contributor Tony Atkin.jpg
St Uny's Church contributor Tony Atkin
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Redruth PLU
Registration District Redruth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1614
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

REDRUTH (St. Uny), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Penwith, W. division of Cornwall, 53 miles (S. W. by W.) from Launceston, and 262¾ (W. S. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans. [1]


Redruth St Euny Rhyd-ruth. Rhyd an older form of 'Res', which is a Cornish equivalent to a ford (across a river). It is the 'ruth' (and not the 'Red' part of the name) which means the colour red.Redruth St Euny  is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Cornwall.
Other places in the parish include: Plengwary, Carnmarth, Euny Redruth, and Little Redruth.

The original settlement of Churchtown around the church was out grown by the town which developed in the demand for copper ore in the eighteenth century.


Resources

Civil Registration


Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.


Church records

Redruth St Uny parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books (FamilySearch) - free[8]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[9]
GOOG = Google Books - free[10]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[11]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[12]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[13]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[14]
REDRUTH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1560-1837

COPC 1560-1693, 1716-1730, 1849-1913
1614-1837, 1902-1913
1717-1845, 1887-1902
FMP 1561-1837 1609-1837 1813-1837
FREG 1560-1716
1560-1812
1560-1812
FSBOOK 1560-1716 1560-1716 1560-1716
FS PRs 1560-1749, 1804-1812, 1837-1908 1560-1749, 1813-1830 1560-1749, 1804-1831, 1887-1916, 1935-1997
GOOG 1560-1716 1560-1716 1560-1716
IARC 1560-1716 1560-1716 1560-1716
IGI 1560-1837 1614-1837
PALL
1800-1813

TGEN 1560-1716
1560-1716
1560-1716


Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 179

Redruth St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Redruth St Andrew Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1898-1912
1885-1913

FMP 1884-1887

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/q_s/redruth.php The Redruth website http://redruth-opc.tripod.com/contents.htm for Redruth and Gwennap is also available.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241265.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Redruth Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 652-655. Date accessed: 20 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 15 November 2013.
  8. Thursten C. Peter, The Parish Registers of Redruth in Cornwall, 1560-1716 (Redruth: Hoblyn and Tayler, 1894). Digitised by FamilySearch Books - free.
  9. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  10. Thursten C. Peter, The Parish Registers of Redruth in Cornwall, 1560-1716 (Redruth: Hoblyn and Tayler, 1894). Digitised by Google Books - free.
  11. Thursten C. Peter, The Parish Registers of Redruth in Cornwall, 1560-1716 (Redruth: Hoblyn and Tayler, 1894). Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  12. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  13. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  14. 'Parish Records - Cornwall Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2014, at 22:09.
  • This page has been accessed 2,114 times.