Reepham with Kerdiston, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Reepham with Kerdiston, Norfolk
Reepham Churches.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eynsford
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

REEPHAM (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of Eynsford, E. division of Norfolk, 12 miles (N. W. by N.) from Norwich, and 116 (N. E. by N.) from London; containing, exclusively of certain portions of the town in the parishes of Kerdiston, Hackford, and Whitwell. [1]

Reepham St Mary is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich and includes Kerdiston. Known as Reepham with Kerdiston it is the surviving church of 3 for Reepham.

The town is mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086 and is listed as Refham meaning the bailiff's or reeve's manor from the Old English gerafa (bailiff) and ham (homestead). Reepham has had market town status since 1277; a sign to mark this has recently been erected.

The Church memorials record  the Kerdiston family. The altar tomb to Sir William de Kerdiston is accompanied by a floor brass of Sir William and with his wife Cecily in brass on the chancel floor, pairs of 14th century figure brasses are rare.

Reepham has three churches on one sight two standing and the other ruined. 

Reepham's three-in-one churchyard is overlooks the  market place.  Churches sharing churchyards is not that uncommon; one needs to consider the difference between a parish and its town or village; we also need to consider the medieval functions of a parish church, which were Roman Catholic churches.

In Reepham three parish boundaries occupy the same site but each served different areas. The adjacent parishes were Hackford (now ruined) and Whitwell .It is one of only two places in Europe to have three churches on the same site. The lost church of Hackford burned down in 1543 but the remains are still evident as the remnant of a tower wall remain on the site approaching the Market Place from the churchyard.

Reepham (pronounced "Ree-fum") is a small market town in the English, county of Norfolk, England. Situated on the B1145 road between the Bure and Wensum valleys. The town is 12 miles (19 km) north west of Norwich.

Church Records

Reepham with Kerdiston, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[8]
REEPHAM PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1902
1600-1902
1600-1863
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1538-1902 Undefined 1538-1902 Undefined 1538-1863
JOIN
1813-1837

NBI

1723-1871
PRTS 1538-1903
1539-1902
1539-1863

Images of the parish register for this parish are available at FamilySearch Historical Records. The combined registers for the three churches for different periods merit explanation:

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 440 Parish Records of Reepham with Kerdiston Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Some early registers contain some entries from the parishes of Hackford-by-Reepham and Whitwell.
Records for Kerdistone combined with Reepham records.

Baptisms, 1538-1723; marriages, 1539-1642, 1663-1714; burials, 1539-1650, 1663-1678, 1700-1723. Births and marriages, 1653-1658; burials, 1653-1658, 1678-1699 (includes Hackford with Whitwell). Baptisms, 1813-1903. Marriages and banns, 1754-1771. Marriages, 1771-1814. Marriages, 1813-1837. FHL BRITISH Film 1596458 Items 20 - 26
Marriages, 1838-1902. Burials, 1813-1863. Banns, 1772-1820. FHL BRITISH Film 1596458 Items 27 - 29
Baptisms, 1723-1817; marriages, 1723-1753; burials, 1723-1817. FHL BRITISH Film 1472794 Item 4
Banns, 1824-1842, 1893-1902, 1847-1893. FHL BRITISH Film 2299169 Items 5 - 6

Archdeacons transcripts

Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Early entries in Latin.

The parishes of Reepham and Kerdistone shared a chapel and church lands.

Baptisms and burials 1600-1608, 1623-1633, 1665-1812 Marriages 1600-1608, 1623-1633, 1665-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526782 Item 8

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438855.

Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Aylsham 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes O through S

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 652-655. Date accessed: 07 May 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 7 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 April 2014, at 17:42.
  • This page has been accessed 1,261 times.