Reeves County, TexasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go to Texas go to Counties R go to Reeves County

Guide to Reeves County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Texas
Online Records


Reeves County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Reeves County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 14, 1883
County Seat Pecos
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Reeves County Courthouse
PO Box 867
Pecos, TX 79772-0867
Phone: 915.445.5467 

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, probate court,and land records from 1885
and some deferred birth records from the 1800’s[1]

History

The county's first settlers were Mexican farmers. Anglo-American settlers arrived about 1871.

Parent County

1883--Reeves County was created 14 April 1883 from Pecos County. County seat: Pecos [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places / Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

African American

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

WorldCat

Findagrave.com

Interment.net


Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves


Cemeteries of Texas



Names in Stone



See Texas Cemeteries for more information.
Additional Cemetery Sources


Church

Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Reeves County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • Reeves County Biographies  ~  TXGenWeb
  • Reeves County Landmarks ~  TXGenWeb
  • Texas Museums  ~  List of all museums in Texas  ~  Hidden Ancestors
  • History of Reeves County - Author: Robert N. Gatewood
  • Pecos: A History of the Pioneer West - Author: Alton Hughes
  • Henry F. Reeves, His Activities & Possessions - Author: Mary Helen Pax
  • History of the Pecos Volunteer Fire Department - Author: Mary Nabers Prewitt
  • The Romance of the Davis Mountains & Big Bend Country - Author: Carlysle Graham Raht
  • Spirits of the Border: The History & Mystery of the Lone Star State = Authors: Ken & Sharon Kudnall
  • Toyah Taproots: A memory book of those who put down roots in Toyah - Compiled by: The Toyah Historical & Centennial Committee

Maps

Txreeves.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Reeves County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.


Taxation

Vital Records

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce


Societies and Libraries

Reeves County Library
505 S Park St
Pecos, TX 79772
Phone: (432) 445-5340

Family History Centers


  • Society Hill  ~  Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Reeves County, Texas. Page 672 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 17:51.
  • This page has been accessed 5,846 times.