Rensselaerville, New YorkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png New York Gotoarrow.png Albany County Gotoarrow.png Town of Rensselaerville


Contents

Resources

Biography

  • Helderberg Hilltowns (Rensselaerville, Berne, Knox, Westerlo) wiki for history and genealogy including biographies and stories, cemeteries, churches, images, maps, and organizations.

Cemeteries

Rensselaerville Cemeteries
  • Helderberg Hilltowns (Rensselaerville, Berne, Knox, Westerlo) wiki for history and genealogy including biographies and stories, cemeteries, churches, images, maps, and organizations.
Brookside Cemetery
Crystal Lake Cemetery

Located at the intersection Co Rd 10 and Co Rd 353

Medusa Cemetery

Co Rd 403

Potters Hollow Cemetery

Co Rd 362

Quaker Cemetery

Death records FHL 17895

Rensselaerville Cemetery

Methodist Hill Rd

Church Records

Online Church Databases

  • Helderberg Hilltowns (Rensselaerville, Berne, Knox, Westerlo) wiki for history and genealogy including biographies and stories, cemeteries, churches, images, maps, and organizations.

Original Church Records

Episcopal

  • Trinity Episcopal Church (Rensselaerville, New York). One hundred, fifty years, 1811-1961 (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1968). FHL Film 532622 Item 8

Presbyterian

  • John O. Gordon. An Historical Sermon (Ann Arbor, Michigan : University Microfilms International - Books on Demand, 1990). A sermon preached in the Presbyterian Church, Rensselaerville, N. Y., July 2nd, 1876 by John O. Gordon. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Fiche 6081297 (1 fiche)
  • Presbyterian Church (Rensselaerville, New York). Church records, 1794-1916 (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1941). FHL Film 17894

Society of Friends (Quakers)

  • New York Genealogical and Biographical Society. Quaker records from Rensselaerville, Albany County, New York, 1827-1895 (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1941). FHL Film 17895
  • Society of Friends. Rensselaerville Monthly Meeting (Rensselaerville, New York : Orthodox). Church records, 1814-1838 (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1950). At various libraries (WorldCat)
  • Society of Friends. Rensselaerville Monthly Meeting (Rensselaerville, New York : Hicksite). Monthly meeting records of Rensselaerville, New York, 1814-1895 (Salt Lake City, Utah: Genealogical Society of Utah, 1950). At various libraries (WorldCat)

Genealogy

  • Helderberg Hilltowns (Rensselaerville, Berne, Knox, Westerlo) wiki for history and genealogy including biographies and stories, cemeteries, churches, images, maps, and organizations.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Rensselaer Public Library
676 East Street
Rensselaer NY 12144
Phone: 518-462-1193

Albany Public Library
Main Library
161 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12210
Phone: 518-427-4300
Fax: 518-449-3386
E-mail: plweb@albanypubliclibrary.org

Genealogical Resources: Albany History Room hours differ from regular library hours. Pruyn Collection of Albany History housed in the Albany History Room of the library. Collection includes city directories, newspapers, and census records on film and online.

Societies

Rensselaerville Historical Society[1]
Po Box 8
Rensselaervle, New York 12147-0008
Phone: 518–797-5154
Email: Edhase@aol.com

Genealogical Resources: The Rensselaerville Historical Society has 52 “Genealogy books”, 12 “Cemetery books”, and 7 “Deeds and Leases books” that are available to researchers at the old Grist Mill.

Albany County Historical Association[2]
9 Ten Broeck Pl.
Albany, NY 12210-2524
Phone: 518-436-9826

Town Clerk

Rensselaerville Town Clerk
87 Barger Road
Medusa, NY 12120
Phone: 518-797-3798 or 518-239-4225
Email: townclerk@rensselaerville.com

Town Historian

Rensselaerville Town Historian[3]
Porter Wright
9 Fox Creek Road
Medusa, NY 12120
Phone: 518–239–8483

Town Records

To locate additional published and transcribed records for Rensselaerville, New York check:

  • Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.


Vital Records

References

  1. Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md: Genealogical Publ., 2009), 371. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.
  2. "Ten Broek Mansion: Home of the Albany County Historical Association" at http://www.tenbroeckmansion.org/ (accessed 26 October 2011).
  3. Elizabeth Petty Bentley, Genealogist's Address Book: State and Local Resources, with Special Resources Including Ethnic and Religious Organizations, 6th ed. (Baltimore, Md: Genealogical Publ., 2009), 371. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D24ben 2009.

Places


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 April 2012, at 14:47.
  • This page has been accessed 2,028 times.