Repps with Bastwick, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Repps with Bastwick, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Repps with Bastwick, Norfolk
Repps Church St Peter.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Flegg
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union East and West Flegg PLU
Registration District Flegg
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Flegg
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

REPPS, with Bastwick (St. Peter), a parish, in the East and West Flegg incorporation, hundred of West Flegg, E. division of Norfolk, 5 miles (N. N. E.) from Acle. [1]


Repps St Peter is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich. A 13th century round tower church with a bell stage added on top.

Resources

Church Records

Repps with Bastwick, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[8]
Repps with Bastwick, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1563-1880
1563-1835
1563-1812
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1563-1812 Undefined 1563-1903 Undefined 1563-1812
IGI 1563-1732 1563-1733
JOIN
1813-1835

TIN 1813-1880


Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438856.

Poor Law Unions

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and East and West Flegg http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Flegg/Flegg.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • registration events post 1837 may be searched online at Free BMD
  • Flegg 1837-1924
  • Yarmouth and Flegg 1925-1938
  • Acle 1938-1974
  • Norwich Outer
  • Norwich

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes O through S

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 655-659. Date accessed: 07 May 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:27.
  • This page has been accessed 892 times.