Research in BurgenlandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Burgenland, Austria ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Until 1918, Burgenland belonged to the Hungarian part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. At the Peace Treaty of St. Germain, in September 1919, this area was awarded to Austria. Despite protests by Hungary, the annexation took effect on August 1921. Burgenland has large Croatian (15%) and Hungarian (3%) minority populations. Prior to the Third Reich, it also had large Roma (Gypsy) and Jewish minority populations (each ~3%). It is now Austria's 7th largest (3962 km²) but least populated state (284,000), with 13 cities and 158 towns (statistics as of Jan 2011).
Districts of Burgenland:
• Neusiedl am See
Books of interest:
• Andrew Burghardt, The Political Geography of Burgenland, 1958 -- the early history of Burgenland as an Austrian province.
• Johann Dobrovich, Volk an der Grenze (People on the Border), 1963 -- a history of the Burgenland Croat minority.
• Walter Dujmovits, The Burgenländer Emigration to America, 2013 -- The authorized English translation of the 3rd edition of "Die Amerika-Wanderung der Burgenländer," the definitive history of emigration of Burgenländers to the Americas by the president of the Burgenländische Gemeinschaft.
Webpages of interest:
- The Burgenland Bunch Genealogy Group
- Diocese of Eisenstadt
- Archive of the Diocese Eisenstadt
- Landesarchiv Burgenland
- This page was last modified on 26 February 2015, at 15:18.
- This page has been accessed 2,961 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News