Rhode Island State ArchivesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Rhode Island Gotoarrow.png Rhode Island State Archives

Ristatearchives.jpg


  • Open Monday - Friday 8:30 am to 4:30 pm
  • Contact by email: statearchives@sos.ri.gov
  • Rhode Island Historical Records Advisory Board: Resources for Researchers


The State Archives, a division of the Office of the Secretary of State, is charged with maintaining the permanent records of state goverment. The collection of historical records dates from 1638 to the present and runs the gamut of Rhode Island's history from the reports of the Colonial Agent to the King of England (1638) to the papers of the Rhode Island Share and Deposit Indemity Corporation (RISDIC) Commission (1993).

Holdings include state census records for the years 1865-1935 (in ten year intervals); state birth and marriage records for the years 1853-1897, state deaths for the years 1853-1947; military records; legislative records; and records of state departments, agencies, boards and commissions. The archives also maintains a large map collection and over 50,000 photographs. 

Their website: http://sos.ri.gov/archives/

To browse/search the State Archives Online Catalog, go to  http://sos.ri.gov/archon/ ( This became available October 16, 2013.)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 July 2014, at 00:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,021 times.