Rhydycroesau, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Rhydycroseau, Shropshire)

England Gotoarrow.png ShropshireGotoarrow.pngShropshire Parishes

Guide to Rhydycroesau, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rhydycroesau, Shropshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswestry
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Oswestry PLU
Registration District Oswestry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Llangollen
Diocese St Asaph
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of St Asaph (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Rhydycroesau is a village on the English-Welsh border, about 3 miles west of Oswestry. It partly lies in the Shropshire parish of Oswestry Rural; the other part is in Powys in Wales. Adapted. Date accessed: 20 November 2013.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474586.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:36.
  • This page has been accessed 963 times.