Richmond County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Richmond County
Guide to Richmond County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Richmond County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of [[Georgia]] | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 5, 1777 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Augusta |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | GA Richmond County Courthouse] 530 Green Street Augusta, GA 30911-0001 Phone: 760.821.2460 Richmond County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Richmond County Courthouse
530 Green Street
Augusta, GA 30911-0001
Phone: 760.821.2460
Clerk Superior Court has land records from 1778
and court records; Probate Court has marriage
and probate records[1]
History
Local histories are available for Richmond County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1777--Richmond County was created 5 February 1777 from St. Paul Parish. County seat: Augusta [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Richmond County, Georgia Lists at Find a Grave
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
St. Mary's Church, Augusta
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Augusta
Episcopal
Christ Church Episcopal, Augusta
- 1887-1895 Christ Church Episcopal, Augusta, Marriage Index 1887-1895. Batch M713591 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Church of the Atonement Episcopal, Augusta
- 1851-1885 - Church of the Atonement Episcopal, Augusta, Baptism Index 1851-1885. Batch C713601 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1851-1895 - Church of the Atonement Episcopal, Augusta, Baptism Index 1851-1885. Batch M713601 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Augusta
- 1868-1885 - St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Augusta, Baptism Index 1868-1885. Batch C713621 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1868-1885 - St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Augusta, Marriage Index 1868-1885. Batch M713621 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Court
Teachers Employed from 1873 to 1881 in Richmond County Georgia Pioneers
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
- Clark, Walter A. A Lost Arcadia, or, The Story of My Old Community. Augusta, Ga.: Chronicle Job Print., 1909. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Clark, Walter A. A Lost Arcadia, or, The Story of My Old Community. Augusta, Ga.: Chronicle Job Print., 1909. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Dellquest, Augustus Wilfrid. Historic Augusta: A Brief Description of the Monuments and Places of Historical Interest in and around Augusta, Ga. Augusta, Ga.: A.W. Dellquest Book Co., 1917. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Dellquest, Augustus Wilfrid. Historic Augusta: A Brief Description of the Monuments and Places of Historical Interest in and around Augusta, Ga. Augusta, Ga.: A.W. Dellquest Book Co., 1917. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Jones, Charles Colcock. Memorial History of Augusta, Georgia: From Its Settlement in 1735 to the Close of the Eighteenth Century. Syracuse, N.Y.: D. Mason & Co., 1890. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Jones, Charles Colcock. Memorial History of Augusta, Georgia: From Its Settlement in 1735 to the Close of the Eighteenth Century. Syracuse, N.Y.: D. Mason & Co., 1890. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps
Marriages
1885-1886 Marriages from old Newspapers Georgia Pioneers
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Richmond County for European settlers included:[4]
- Savannah River pre-historic
- Occaneechi Path pre-historic
- Lower Creek Trading Path pre-historic
- Cisca and St. Augustine Trail (or Nickajack Trail) pre-historic
- Fort Moore-Charleston Trail about 1716
- Fall Line Road about 1735
- Augusta-Savannah Trail 1739
- Great Valley Road (south fork) 1740s
- Augusta-St. Augustine Trail
- Augusta and Cherokee Trail about 1777
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills, Book A, 1777-1798 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills, 1798-1810 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills, 1810-1829 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills, 1839-1844 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Wills, 1845-1853 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Wills 1777-1958 Georgia Pioneers
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriage
- 1801-1805 - Richmond County Marriage Index 1801-1805. Batch M713571 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1806-1863 - Richmond County Marriage Books A thru C Index 1806-1863. Batch M713572 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1806-1863 - Richmond County Marriage Books A thru C Index 1806-1863. Batch M391742 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1806-1863 - Richmond County Marriage Books A thru C Index 1806-1863. Batch M391743 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1863-1871 - Richmond County Marriage Books D thru F Index 1863-1871. Batch M713573 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1870-1875 - Richmond County Marriage Books G and H Index 1870-1875. Batch M713574 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1873-1881 - Richmond County Marriage Books I and J Index 1873-1881. Batch M713575 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1876-1887 - Richmond County Marriage Book K Index 1876-1887. Batch M713576 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1882-1886 - Richmond County Marriage Books M and O Index 1882-1886. Batch M713577 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1887-1890 - Richmond County Marriage Books P and Q Index 1887-1890. Batch M713578 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1888-1893 - Richmond County Marriage Books R and S Index 1888-1893. Batch M713579 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1894-1897 - Richmond County Marriage Books T and U Index 1894-1897. Batch M713581 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Richmond County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Richmond County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.00 3.01 3.02 3.03 3.04 3.05 3.06 3.07 3.08 3.09 3.10 3.11 3.12 3.13 3.14 3.15 3.16 3.17 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2013, at 04:57.
- This page has been accessed 1,955 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

