Rifferswil parish, Zürich, SwitzerlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Back to Zürich in Switzerland

Contents

Geography

History

Place Names

Locations within Rifferswil

Ambühl
Geerensteg
Homberg
Jungalbis

Ober-Rifferswil
Schonau
Unter-Rifferswil
Weid

Surrounding Parishes

Aeugst am Albis
Hausen am Albis
Kappel am Albis
Mettmenstetten

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

The following censuses are available for Rifferswil:

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 1 268
1637 1185141 2 511
1640 1185143 1 637
1646 1185147 2 399
1649 1185149 1 353
1657 1185179 1 26
1670 1185153 1 655
1678 1185152 3 923
1682 1185158 3 107
1689 1185164 1 589
1694 1185168 2 129
1695 1185168 2 139
1708 1185170 2 51

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Rifferswil families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Rifferswil belongs to the Bezirk Affoltern civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Bezirkszivilstandsamt Affoltern
Gemeindezentrum
Zivilstandskreis
Marktplatz 1
CH - 8910 Affoltern am Albis

Tel: +41 44 762 56 65

email: zivilstandsamt@affoltern-am-albis.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Rifferswil prior to 1875:

Bär / Baer
Berli
Bühler (1817 from Germany)
Frick
Funk
Grob
Hauser

Hofstetter
Huber
Hurter (1823, from Kappel am Albis)
Steinmann
Wegmann
Weiss (1867, from Mettmenstetten)
Widmer

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 March 2014, at 20:51.
  • This page has been accessed 389 times.