Riley County, KansasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kansas
Riley County
Riley County, Kansas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W
| Riley County, Kansas | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Kansas | |
![]() Location of Kansas in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | August 30, 1855 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Manhattan |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy [[]] | |
| Address | Riley County Courthouse 110 Courthouse Plaza Manhattan, Kansas 66502-6018 Phone: 785.537.0700 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Riley County Courthouse
110 Courthouse Plaza
Manhattan, KS 66502-6018
Phone: 785.537.0700
CountyClerk has birth and death records 1885-1886 and 1892-1909.
City Clerk has birth and death records from 1910.
Probate Court has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [1]
History
Parent County
1855--Riley County was created 30 August 1855 as an original county. County seat: Manhattan [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Riley County, Kansas for European and African American settlers included:
- Kansas River
- Big Blue River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[3]
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[4]
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[5]
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Riley County, Kansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Riley County Genealogy (Kansas Genealogy)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Riley County, Kansas page 255, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 June 2013, at 01:47.
- This page has been accessed 1,109 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

