Ringgold County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.pngIowaGotoarrow.png Ringgold County

Guide to Ringgold County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Ringgold County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Ringgold County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 24, 1847
County Seat Mt. Ayr
Courthouse

Contents

County Courthouse

History

Parent County

1847--Ringgold County was created 24 February 1847 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Taylor and Appanoose Counties prior to organization 31 January 1855.  County seat:  Mt. Ayr [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

June 8, 1858 -- a cyclone blew down the courthouse. For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adams • Clarke • Decatur • Taylor • Union • Harrison County, Missouri • Worth County, Missouri

Ringgold CountyTaylor CountyAdams CountyUnion CountyClarke CountyDecatur CountyPage CountyMontgomery CountyCass CountyAdair CountyMadison CountyWarren CountyLucas CountyWayne CountyNodaway CountyWorth CountyHarrison CountyMercer CountyGrundy CountyGentry CountyIARinggold.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories 

Local histories are available for Ringgold County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Maps

Military

Ringgold County Military Links

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Ringgold County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Ringgold County, Iowa:


- 4th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
- 29th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company E
- 29th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G
:- 46th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company E
:- 4th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company G

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ringgold County, Iowa newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Ringgold - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..


Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 December 2014, at 03:40.
  • This page has been accessed 4,437 times.