Ringley, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Ringley, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ringley, Lancashire
Ringley St Saviour's contributor David Dixon.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Prestwich PLU
Registration District Bury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1719
Bishop's Transcripts: 1773
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Prestwich
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

RINGLEY, a chapelry, chiefly in the parish of Prestwich, partly in the union of Bolton and partly in that of Bury, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 4 miles (S. E.) from Bolton. The river Irwell, the Manchester, Bolton, and Bury canal, a road between Bury and Bolton, and the East Lancashire railway, all run through the chapelry; and at Stoneclough, half a mile distant, is a station on the Bolton and Manchester railway. The chapel, dedicated to Our Saviour, was rebuilt in 1826 is in the early English style, with a tower. it is situated in the hamlet of Outwood and township of Pilkington. [1] Ringley St Saviour was created a chapel of ease by at least 1719 from, and lying within the boundaries of Prestwich St Mary, Lancashire ancient parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

The Register Office, Town Hall, Manchester Road, Bury, BL9 0SW.
Tel: 0161 253 6026. Fax: 0161 253 6028. E-mail: registeroffice@bury.gov.uk
On-line indexes - Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Ringley chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Prestwich to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
RINGLEY ST SAVIOUR Chapelry (1712) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1719-1812 1719-1812 1719-1812
AC 1813-1914 1838-1930 1813-1960
FS 1712-1912 1838-1935 1770-1914
LOPC 1719-1847 1719-1753. 1838-1947 1719-1847, 1914-1960
LBMD None 1838-1992 None
FMP None 1719-1809 None
PRESTWICH ST MARY PARISH (1600) Indexes (ancient parish containing RINGLEY Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1603-1910 1600-1935 1712-1921
LOPC 1603-1936 1603-1895 1603-1921
LBMD 1837-1902 1837-1925 1837-1877
FMP None 1603-1712 None
AC 1603-1711 1603-1711 1603-1711


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Ringley and comprising the whole ancient parish of Prestwich to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PRESTWICH ST MARY PARISH page.


Parish registers for St. Savior's Church, Ringley, 1719-1960 Microfilm copy of originals formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England.
Ringley is a chapelry in Prestwich parish. It is also known as St. Savior's Church.

Content
Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1719-1745. Baptisms, burials, 1745-1770; marriages, 1745-1753. Baptisms and burials, 1770-1813. Baptisms, 1802-May 1841.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356506
Baptisms, May 1836-1914. Marriages, 1838-February 1940.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356507
Marriages, Jan. 1940-1947. Burials, 1813-June 1914.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356548
Burials, June 1914-1960. Banns, 1875-1927.
FHL BRITISH Film
2356549 Items 1 - 2
Baptisms, 1770-1841 (another filming). Burials, 1770-1812 (another filming).
FHL BRITISH Film
2148003
Inventory of church records. Baptisms, 1841-1914 (another filming).
FHL BRITISH Film
2148004


Bishop's transcripts for Ringley, 1773-1847 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Ringley is a chapelry in the township of Pilkington in the parish of Prestwich.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/145-146

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials, 1773-1825
FHL BRITISH Film
1545743 Items 2-3
Baptisms and burials, 1826-1847
FHL BRITISH Film
1545744 Item 1


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306932.


Poor Law Unions

Prestwich Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 668-671.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 3,734 times.