Ringmore, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ringmore, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Ringmore, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ringmore, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ermington
County Devon
Poor Law Union Kingsbridge PLU
Registration District Kingsbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1719
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Woodleigh
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RINGMORE, a parish, in the union of Kingsbridge, hundred of Ermington, Ermington and Plympton, and S. divisions of Devon, 4 miles (S. by W.) from Modbury. The parish is situated on the shore of Bigbury bay, near the mouth of the Avon; and comprises by admeasurement 1168 acres. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241309.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ringmore on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 668-671. Date accessed: 2 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2015, at 00:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,306 times.