Ringstead, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Ringstead, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ringstead, Norfolk
Ringstead Church.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Smithdon
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1575
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Heacham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RINGSTEAD, GREAT, a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Smithdon, W. division of Norfolk, 16 miles (N. N. E.) from Lynn. The church of St. Peter was pulled down in 1771.

RINGSTEAD, LITTLE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Smithdon, W. division of Norfolk, 14½ miles (N. N. E.) from Lynn. The church has been demolished. [1]

Ringstead had two churches, Ringstead St Andrew is the  survivor and the ruined neighbor was demolished in 1792.

Ringstead St Andrew (Great Ringstead) is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich.

The church is a 14th century church with substantial additions in the 19th century.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages, and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Civil registration District

  • Docking

Church records

Ringstead, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Ringstead, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1725-1812
1725-1812
1725-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

There were 2 parishes in Great Ringstead until 1771, St. Andrew's and St. Peter's. In 1771 they were united, and St. Andrew's became the parish church.

This parish's registers do not appear at FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content
Film
Baptisms 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1811 Burials 1726-1812
FHL BRITISH Film
1526810 Item 6
Great Ringstead Parish Record.jpg

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 668-671. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,494 times.